Sharon Bowles makes Bank of England governor shortlist

Sharon BowlesThe Telegraph reports today that Sharon Bowles, who is currently the  Liberal Democrat MEP for the South East of England has made it on to the shortlist for the next Governor of the Bank of England.

With her first hand experience of the Eurozone Crisis as Chair of the European Parliament’s Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee, she is a worthy contender for the position and, she argues, her appointment would send a powerful message of change.

“Just about everything about me is different. I’m an independent. I’m not from the Bank or the City of the Financial Services Authority. I’m not someone [who was] sitting on the monetary policy committee when the bubbles were growing in the boom years and doing nothing to pop them.”

The appointment is expected to be made within the next few weeks.

 

* Caron Lindsay is Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice and blogs at Caron's Musings

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/31519 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

  • That pink trouser suit of hers would clash terribly with the commissionaires’ pink coats :)

  • John stevens 15th Nov '12 - 12:24pm

    Does she favour joining the euro? If she is prepared to say that she should get the job. Perhaps LDV could get a national scoop by asking her.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarR Rossim 29th May - 5:09pm
    There will be coercion, there will be demands that people choose death, there will be doctors advising death, and I don't think elder abuse is...
  • User AvatarMichael BG 29th May - 4:39pm
    Gordon defines a narrative as beginning with how society is and then put forward a way to change it. Recently I have seen Steve Hilton...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 29th May - 4:37pm
    Conservative home has a very interesting analysis of the South West election result http://www.conservativehome.com/parliament/2015/05/battlegrounds-revisited-2-the-south-west.html tl:dr - the evidence is that in most of these seats...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 29th May - 4:27pm
    ring ring Hello, Ms ZHC speaking Oh hi, it's employer A. We've got 4 hours work for you tomorrow from 8 to 12. Oh, Sorry,...
  • User AvatarSIMON BANKS 29th May - 4:11pm
    If it was worth doing at any time in the past, it's worth doing now. The government is illiberal, the power structure is illiberal and...
  • User AvatarGlenn Andrews 29th May - 4:05pm
    Mr Wallace; in most of those seats the bases are pro Libdem - what you are referring to is the roof - which now we...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015