Tag Archives: 2013 spring conference

Job shares for MPs?

reformIt seems that journalists in the national media now make time to read Liberal Democrat policy consultation papers, even before they are discussed at Conference.

Following the Mail’s rant about the so-called ‘jewelry tax‘ (from the Tax Policy consultation paper), we now have a more reasoned appraisal by the Guardian of one of the proposals in the consultation paper on Political and Constitutional Reform.

This major consultation is very wide ranging, and begins thus:

Our recent policy on constitutional and political reform has tended to focus on altering the democratic structures of the United Kingdom. We have sought pluralism in our electoral system, strength and legitimacy in our Parliament, and radical decentralisation of power to national, regional and local institutions.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 20 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th May - 12:48am
    @AWills Due to the massacre at the election the number of privately educated MP's we have has fallen massively of course, but the fact remains...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 30th May - 12:16am
    @Peter: I presume you mean something constructive in the proposal (with perhaps a hint of utopia). Cordially,
  • User AvatarAWills 30th May - 12:07am
    I'm sorry but if we think that by making the MPs look more diverse we can change our fortunes we are mistaken. It's a desirable...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 29th May - 11:49pm
    I fear that until we find a new leader with suitable charisma and the ability to connect with the public, the national party will continue...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 11:15pm
    Mavarine Du-Marie - I presume you are talking about the right to have children. Of course, everyone should have the opportunity to experience this joy,...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 11:08pm
    @Peter: "The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing." I thought that was what marriage "to death do us...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015