Tag Archives: adam simmonds

The ludicrous story of Northamptonshire’s new Police and Crime Commissioner

Across the country the controversial newly elected Police and Crime Commissioners are supposed to be getting down to business. The reality in several areas is that many are hitting the headlines for the wrong reasons, and nowhere is this truer than in the case of Adam Simmonds, the Northamptonshire PCC, who has stacked his new “sprawling” 17-person commission with his campaign staff.

The whole story is an ‘omnishambles’ – a toxic mixture of high farce, cronyism and arrogance potentially leading to an unacceptable politicisation of our police force.

First though, a little background. Mr Simmonds was the Conservative political assistant at Tory-run …

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 27 Comments

Most Read

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 11:08pm
    @Peter: "The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing." I thought that was what marriage "to death do us...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 10:56pm
    The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing. Everyone should be entitled to that. Sadly, someone has to pay....
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 29th May - 10:48pm
    Jo Grimond was leader of the Liberal party in the 1960s. He was once asked; Isn't your Liberal party nothing more than a protest vote...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 29th May - 10:43pm
    The MPs are all men so perhaps: "We are the 48%" would make a better slogan.
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 29th May - 10:38pm
    John Dunn - 'can we really blame people for optimising profit from their skills.?' Oh, sure I agree - no blame attached to the staff....
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 10:34pm
    @Peter: "Those who contribute nothing but receive benefits should not be able to enjoy an unlimited income paid for by the hard pressed taxpayer." We...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015