Tag Archives: adam simmonds

The ludicrous story of Northamptonshire’s new Police and Crime Commissioner

Across the country the controversial newly elected Police and Crime Commissioners are supposed to be getting down to business. The reality in several areas is that many are hitting the headlines for the wrong reasons, and nowhere is this truer than in the case of Adam Simmonds, the Northamptonshire PCC, who has stacked his new “sprawling” 17-person commission with his campaign staff.

The whole story is an ‘omnishambles’ – a toxic mixture of high farce, cronyism and arrogance potentially leading to an unacceptable politicisation of our police force.

First though, a little background. Mr Simmonds was the Conservative political assistant at Tory-run …

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 27 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJames Brough 28th Feb - 1:47pm
    @John Smith. That's a remarkably ill informed and offensive post.You clearly haven't noticed that the UK already has strict immigration restrictions in place and you...
  • User AvatarNeil Sandison 28th Feb - 1:30pm
    The problem i have is how often can you milk the same cash cow .ie wealthy pensioners Winter fuel allowances ,TV licences ,Consessionary bus and...
  • User AvatarJack 28th Feb - 1:29pm
    Oh, and this from Cable "I certainly don’t apologise for the policy we’ve now got, because it is a good one, and it is sustainable...
  • User AvatarStuart 28th Feb - 1:23pm
    @Jack "I love the way that it’s only city bankers and accountants that earn over £35k in Martin Lewis’s world. What about computer programmers, doctors,...
  • User AvatarJack 28th Feb - 1:23pm
    @Philip Thomas: I think you just won the internet. Brilliantly put.
  • User AvatarJack 28th Feb - 1:21pm
    @Stuart: "I’m not a Labour member so can’t speak for them, but as a Labour voter I can confirm that I am delighted with the...
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015