Tag Archives: admissions

Opinion: fix our school system and stop uni-bashing

As a former constituent and activist in Bermondsey and Old Southwark I greatly enjoyed campaigning on behalf of Simon Hughes and have a lot of respect for his approach to policy and the hard work he puts in, especially meeting face to face with local voters and community groups. I was shocked, however, to read quotes from Simon on the front page of Saturday’s Guardian calling on universities to ‘cut intake’ from independent schools in order to match nationally ‘representative’ proportions: 7.2% was his quoted figure for the proportion of students we ought to aim at coming from an …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 34 Comments

Opinion: In pursuit of excellence

Earlier this month David Lammy MP highlighted the problem of the low number of black students admitted to Oxford and Cambridge Universities and called it the ‘Oxbridge Whitewash’. He wrote in the Guardian (6 Dec):

“Just one British black Caribbean student was admitted to Oxford last year. That is not a misprint: one student. Merton College, Oxford, has not admitted a single black student for five years. At Robinson College, Cambridge, a white applicant is four times more likely to be successful than a black applicant. Last year, 292 black students achieved three A grades at A-level and 475 black

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 6:49pm
    Charles kennedy was in favour of full devolution and said so at federal conference in Glasgow, The artificiality of this scheme is the problem that...
  • User AvatarJim Williams 6th Jul - 6:24pm
    Hello all. Thanks for commenting. I couldn't agree more. My understanding is that Conference is moving towards one member one vote, but yes: we can...
  • User AvatarGordon 6th Jul - 6:07pm
    The case of LVT perfectly illustrates how, although Conference may think it decides party policy, it's actually the outcome of an fudge - Conference proposes,...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:56pm
    Just to clarify: the only problem I have with the Electoral Reform Society is that they don't explain STV properly. For as long as people...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:46pm
    I agree revolution should not always be a dirty term (I support a peaceful revolution in Hong Kong, for example). However in the West it...
  • User AvatarGraham Evans 6th Jul - 5:43pm
    A lot of the discussion seems to have focused on operational structures. However, while this can be important in getting people elected, in terms of...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015