Tag Archives: alan sillitoe

Daily View 2×2: 4 March 2010

Good morning and welcome to Thursday’s Daily View.

There’s a huge chunk of exciting things that happened today in history, so it’s an auspicious day to welcome a baby Cullen. Our technical editor Ryan has been tweeting progress, and as I write this there’s a lot of pushing going on. Best wishes from all at LDV to the Cullen family – I’m sure LDV Towers will soon get used to night feeds. I’m dusting off my copy of Gina Ford as I type.

Male swans from Matthew Bourne's Swan LakeSo, today in history: the US Congress met for the first time in 1789. In 1790, France was divvied into départements. In 1797, John Adams succeeded George Washington, the first ever peaceful transfer of power between elected leaders in modern times. Chicago was founded in 1837; Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake premiered in Moscow in 1877 and in 1882, East London saw Britain’s first electric trams. The first Daimler car was unveiled and in 1933, the first woman joined the US Cabinet.

March 4th birthdays include Vivaldi, in 1678, Sir Patrick Moore, and Nottingham novellist Alan Sillitoe (I was at the meeting of Nottingham City Council that made him an honorary freeman of the city, incidentally)

2 Big Stories

Evil Gays update

Civil partnerships – gay marriages – could soon be registered in places of worship – something currently expressly banned by statute, which is particularly unfair on those faiths which don’t have a problem with gay relationships, including Quakers and Reform Judaism. The Times has one version of the information; the Telegraph on the other hand manages to paint a far more bleak version of the havoc that could be wrought by litigious homos.

Meanwhile, David Cameron has averred that his party’s tax breaks, maternity and paternity rights planned for married couples will also be available to their civilly partnershipped brethren. Not quite sure how this tallies with last month’s pronouncement that would be no new gay rights under the Tories.

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPhil Rimmer 25th May - 8:13pm
    @ Little Jackie Paper - I only enter dialogue with people I believe to be using their real name.
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 25th May - 7:59pm
    redndead "It’s therefore somewhat surprising that criticism is supposed to be left to a private review process when others are being allowed to rewrite history...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 25th May - 7:54pm
    @Peter About 95% odd of UK laws are made in the UK. The remaining 5% odd are mainly trade related laws which we'd have to...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 7:48pm
    Hi Daniel, I don't know the ins and outs of the law, but I do know that EU citizens resident here can't vote in general...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 25th May - 7:40pm
    @Andy Hinton: I don't think there's anything you've written that I disagree with. There is certainly a determination about this year's FE to change that...
  • User AvatarPeter 25th May - 7:28pm
    The vote is about the UK remaining in a quasi-federation which plans complete political and economic integration or whether it wishes to withdraw from that...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015