Tag Archives: alice miles

Paul Staines: not the Messiah, just a very naughty boy

A week ago, Damian McBride was still the Prime Minister’s chief media advisor, and LabourList’s Derek Draper was attempting to laugh off as blokeish banter the emails which implicated Number 10 in smears against senior Tories. But, then, we know what they say about a week in politics.

Paul Staines, sole author of the Guido Fawkes’ blog, has had a good week, given ample, respectable print space to repeat a central point he’s been making for years: that those political journalists who are part of the ‘lobby’ system have failed democracy:

Though the fourth estate may not have a formal

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , , and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 9:40pm
    I think it can be said that there are lots of things the English party and the federal party in England does which regions are...
  • User AvatarMark Argent 5th Jul - 9:24pm
    Rather than create an English party, how about beefing up the present regional Lib Dem parties? That models devolution within England, which seems a wise...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 5th Jul - 9:23pm
    Andrew: "The Tories and Labour will try and get Tim Farron (if he is elected) on things like abortion and gay marriage" I doubt it,...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 5th Jul - 8:54pm
    Now, then. As a Yorkshireman living in Scotland I'd like to make a couple of particularist points, Number one : that picture's got nowt to...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 8:36pm
    I don't think that there would be likely to be any local parties left behind - if any were left behind they'd probably quickly pick...
  • User AvatarMartin 5th Jul - 8:26pm
    It looks as though we could do with a further postcard from Athens soon. What will a large NO vote mean? I find it very...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015