Tag Archives: andrew brown

Leveson, the morning after the Report before: what Lib Dem bloggers say

Caron Lindsay blogged about Nick Clegg’s Commons statement here on LibDemVoice: Nick Clegg: We won’t find better solution than Leveson’s. Here’s a quick round-up of other reaction so far from Lib Dem bloggers to Lord Justice Leveson’s report on media standards…

Contributors split on broadly pro/anti-Leveson Report lines. Let’s start with the pro-Leveson bloggers:

Shock as politician behaves like a grown-up! (Caron Lindsay)

I can’t, for the life of me, see what the problem is with Leveson’s clever proposal for a self regulating body with true independence – ie not full of newspaper editors or chaired by politicians. It seems pretty

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , and | 22 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 9:40pm
    I think it can be said that there are lots of things the English party and the federal party in England does which regions are...
  • User AvatarMark Argent 5th Jul - 9:24pm
    Rather than create an English party, how about beefing up the present regional Lib Dem parties? That models devolution within England, which seems a wise...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 5th Jul - 9:23pm
    Andrew: "The Tories and Labour will try and get Tim Farron (if he is elected) on things like abortion and gay marriage" I doubt it,...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 5th Jul - 8:54pm
    Now, then. As a Yorkshireman living in Scotland I'd like to make a couple of particularist points, Number one : that picture's got nowt to...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 8:36pm
    I don't think that there would be likely to be any local parties left behind - if any were left behind they'd probably quickly pick...
  • User AvatarMartin 5th Jul - 8:26pm
    It looks as though we could do with a further postcard from Athens soon. What will a large NO vote mean? I find it very...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015