Tag Archives: andrew brown

Leveson, the morning after the Report before: what Lib Dem bloggers say

Caron Lindsay blogged about Nick Clegg’s Commons statement here on LibDemVoice: Nick Clegg: We won’t find better solution than Leveson’s. Here’s a quick round-up of other reaction so far from Lib Dem bloggers to Lord Justice Leveson’s report on media standards…

Contributors split on broadly pro/anti-Leveson Report lines. Let’s start with the pro-Leveson bloggers:

Shock as politician behaves like a grown-up! (Caron Lindsay)

I can’t, for the life of me, see what the problem is with Leveson’s clever proposal for a self regulating body with true independence – ie not full of newspaper editors or chaired by politicians. It seems pretty

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , and | 22 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarBelinda Brooks-Gordo 28th Jul - 2:15am
    Some of these points relate more to ALDE than to International Relations Committee, so maybe an outline of what the committee does Mark would be...
  • User AvatarTim 28th Jul - 12:54am
    Whether or not the border would become a “hard” border in the event of Brexit is a matter for the E.U., not for the U.K....
  • User AvatarRichard Gadsden 28th Jul - 12:28am
    1994 Cannabis motion was proposed by Saffron Walden.
  • User AvatarRob Banks 27th Jul - 11:01pm
    Hi Caron - at the time, in fairness, probably not :)
  • User AvatarStevan Rose 27th Jul - 10:59pm
    Interesting. Some frustrations. It's not helpful to be forced into single choices. The NHS - I would cut free access to non-essential and cosmetic services...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 27th Jul - 10:47pm
    The UK did not vote to leave the customs union, David Davis is over the top. There are big political risks in the USA in...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016