Tag Archives: archie norman

Entwistle quits BBC: what next?

Another week, another day’s news headlines dominated by the media talking about itself… though this time with some legitimacy, as it’s not every day the Director-General of the BBC resigns within two months of being appointed to the post.

George Entwistle and the BBC’s Catch-22 problem

The BBC Director-General is editor-in-chief of the organisation, ultimately responsible for all content. The DG must also lead an organisation with 23,000 employees, a £4.8bn budget and multiple TV, radio and online outlets. I think it’s fair to say those are two …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMark Argent 2nd Mar - 12:20am
    My instinct is that talk of coalitions is premature, as we don't know how things will look until 8 May, and destructive if it causes...
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 2nd Mar - 12:13am
    I'm all in favour of free speech, but I'm also in favour of free tuition.
  • User AvatarATF 2nd Mar - 12:05am
    The problem has not been that people have been espousing such evil views, it is that we have not paid attention to the fact they...
  • User AvatarDavid Allen 1st Mar - 11:26pm
    Good article and some good posts below the line especially Roland, Tony Greaves, Nick Barlow. What I see is the survival of the pushiest. Empire-building...
  • User AvatarChris Rennard 1st Mar - 11:24pm
    Free speech is the first tenet of liberalism and essential to democracy, it seems to me that what Vince and Ed are saying here is...
  • User AvatarNigel Quinton 1st Mar - 11:15pm
    What Dr Taylor said. I am not a huge fan of how we have managed being in coalition, but one of the genuine achievements has...
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015