Tag Archives: aspiration

Opinion: Aspiration exasperation

inspiration - Some rights reserved by h.koppdelaneyI love Friday nights. They keep me grounded and motivated simultaneously, they’re the week’s reset button. The fact they usually involve the pub and a reasonable amount of alcohol is completely coincidental.

I’ve been um-ming and ah-ing for ages over an article for LibDem Voice along the lines of “Aspiration Exasperation”. Politicians talk about aspiration easily enough but it bothers me. Aspiration for what? What I take from it – and I would be delighted to hear I’m wrong on this – is that they mean aspiration …

Posted in Op-eds | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarTomas Howard-Jones 8th Jul - 12:48am
    John Tilley is right- the motivations and understanding of Islamic State ultimately are the same intellectual stable as that from the Saudi- Wahabist grip on...
  • User AvatarTonyJ 8th Jul - 12:34am
    This is a great speech. Really. I love it. And I hate to criticise any of it. But... "Close your eyes and think of England...
  • User AvatarTomas Howard-Jones 8th Jul - 12:29am
    Rest assured at least that the catastrophic situation in Syria and growth of "Islamic State" would undoubtedly have been far, far worse, if the British...
  • User AvatarAndrew 8th Jul - 12:16am
    We can't ignore the EU referendum - it is going to dominate the news fotr months and is the biggest single issue facing the country...
  • User Avatarnigel hunter 8th Jul - 12:13am
    This article is so relevant it should find its way to the national press,
  • User AvatarPhilip Vial 7th Jul - 10:42pm
    The problem was never that the Lib Dems didn't do anything good in the last Government. The problem was that they rolled over on tuition...
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015