Tag Archives: barriers to choice review

David Boyle writes… Choice works – so why not in legal aid?

Barristers wigChoice is a funny thing.  I spent seven months studying how it worked in practice when I was running the Barriers to Choice Review for the Cabinet Office.

Despite the rhetoric from parts of the left, I believe that people can improve public services by being able to choose between different providers.

I’m also only too aware how many people are excluded from that – by a lack of information or advice, by a lack of transport and any number of other factors.

I am also aware of the

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 18 Comments

Opinion: A new direction for choice

“What’s a nice guy like you doing with a bunch of Tories?” one journalist asked me as I discussed the Barriers to Choice Review.

“You see, I’m a Liberal Democrat,” I explained…

The truth is that this was not a coalition problem.  It was a problem about the word ‘choice’.

My task as an independent reviewer, appointed by the Cabinet Office and the Treasury, was to find out how people used the choices they have been given in schools, hospitals, social care and so on – especially disadvantaged people.

But the word ‘choice’ itself divides people, even those who might otherwise agree on pretty …

Posted in News | Also tagged | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 30th May - 1:19pm
    The link is to the Huffington Post.
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 30th May - 1:12pm
    Caron, the HRA is *not* a perfect piece of legislation. It has resulted in some illiberal outcomes - one case which springs to mind is...
  • User AvatarDavid 30th May - 1:05pm
    @Tony All parties actively get some tactical votes, but only the lib dems make getting them the main thrust of their campaign, and that's the...
  • User AvatarCharlie 30th May - 1:01pm
    John Tilley Germans did skilled work: immigrants did unskilled work.
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 30th May - 12:51pm
    Yeah, this seems very tabloid-esque, guys. Also short changes Norman at a time when I would have hoped you, as a publication, would remain unbiased...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 30th May - 12:44pm
    Sara, I think you need to look at some of the cases decided under each article to show how important the HRA is. Until we...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015