Tag Archives: bees

Time for urgent action to reverse bee decline

The ‘minister for bees’ must announce an urgent plan to save Britain’s most precious pollinating insects

Bees are in decline. 47 of our wild bumble and solitary bees are listed as threatened, we’ve lost some bee species already and according to the British Beekeepers’ Association, last winter was the worst on record for the loss of honey bee colonies, with more than one-third not surviving hibernation.

Their decline is worrying – especially the wild varieties that don’t live in managed hives – they are one of our most valuable pollinating insects. Scientists at the University of Reading recently estimated that were …

Posted in News | Also tagged | 8 Comments

This week in Europe: 21-24 January… no to milk lakes, yes to skilled migrants and bees

Proposals for a revised Common Agricultural Policy met with mixed emotions

On Wednesday, the European Parliament’s Agricultural Committee (AGRI) voted on reform proposals to the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP). ALDE MEPs welcomed the votes in general as a major step towards a more sustainable European agricultural model. However, ALDE condemns the possible double payment for greening and agri-environmental measures and rejects a possible return to failed past policies of heavy market interventions.

Commenting after the votes, George Lyon MEP (UK, Liberal Democrat), ALDE team leader on the AGRI committee and shadow rapporteur on the direct payments report, said:

Today’s vote is a big

Posted in Europe / International and News | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Innes 3rd Jul - 4:29pm
    Can understand most of what you said, however Clegg turned me off, still does. Good person, lousy leader. Never heard anything positive lamenting about Clegg...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 3rd Jul - 3:05pm
    Thank you for that solidarity Caron. What makes me sad now as an older woman is weighing up if and when to intervene on a...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 3:00pm
    How did she win? I always like to hear how people pull of council victories. Often it seems to be defending the green belt, which...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 2:57pm
    I could not help but notice that despite Nick taking part in the Leeds debate there was no photo of him afterwards shaking some Otley...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 2:55pm
    Paul does not say, but i suspect this meeting was part of the on-going post-mortem by opinion pollsters about how it all went wrong in...
  • User AvatarSir Norfolk Passmore 3rd Jul - 2:48pm
    Andrew - having seen the approach in Hampton Wick, dwelling on regret over losing Vince was not the approach and nor should it have been....
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015