Tag Archives: ben wallace

Proof that not *all* Tories are bonkers on Europe (and nor was Mrs Thatcher)

margaret thatcher europeAmidst all the Tory Euro-hysteria (‘Eurotic’, I’ve heard it described as: and I seriously hope I didn’t mis-hear) it’s easy to forget there are a few Tories, a diminishing if stoic band, who have kept tight hold of their senses.

And though it was David Cameron’s desperate last-ditch pitch for the job of Tory leader — his 2005 promise to his party’s Europhobes to withdraw the Tories from the mainstream centre-right EPP alliance, a policy even David Davis wouldn’t touch — which has, slowly but inevitably, dragged the party ever more fringewards, a few of his backbenchers remain hopeful they can persuade him, even now, to do the sensible thing.

Here’s some of what they’ve written to him:

We acknowledge the EU’s shortcomings and understand the desire and, under the Lisbon Treaty the possibility, to repatriate powers. However, we do our nation, as well as Europe, a disservice by not confidently exerting the same level of engagement and leadership as we demonstrate in organisations such as NATO, the G8, the UN Security Council or the Commonwealth.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 6:49pm
    Charles kennedy was in favour of full devolution and said so at federal conference in Glasgow, The artificiality of this scheme is the problem that...
  • User AvatarJim Williams 6th Jul - 6:24pm
    Hello all. Thanks for commenting. I couldn't agree more. My understanding is that Conference is moving towards one member one vote, but yes: we can...
  • User AvatarGordon 6th Jul - 6:07pm
    The case of LVT perfectly illustrates how, although Conference may think it decides party policy, it's actually the outcome of an fudge - Conference proposes,...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:56pm
    Just to clarify: the only problem I have with the Electoral Reform Society is that they don't explain STV properly. For as long as people...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:46pm
    I agree revolution should not always be a dirty term (I support a peaceful revolution in Hong Kong, for example). However in the West it...
  • User AvatarGraham Evans 6th Jul - 5:43pm
    A lot of the discussion seems to have focused on operational structures. However, while this can be important in getting people elected, in terms of...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015