Tag Archives: ben wallace

Proof that not *all* Tories are bonkers on Europe (and nor was Mrs Thatcher)

margaret thatcher europeAmidst all the Tory Euro-hysteria (‘Eurotic’, I’ve heard it described as: and I seriously hope I didn’t mis-hear) it’s easy to forget there are a few Tories, a diminishing if stoic band, who have kept tight hold of their senses.

And though it was David Cameron’s desperate last-ditch pitch for the job of Tory leader — his 2005 promise to his party’s Europhobes to withdraw the Tories from the mainstream centre-right EPP alliance, a policy even David Davis wouldn’t touch — which has, slowly but inevitably, dragged the party ever more fringewards, a few of his backbenchers remain hopeful they can persuade him, even now, to do the sensible thing.

Here’s some of what they’ve written to him:

We acknowledge the EU’s shortcomings and understand the desire and, under the Lisbon Treaty the possibility, to repatriate powers. However, we do our nation, as well as Europe, a disservice by not confidently exerting the same level of engagement and leadership as we demonstrate in organisations such as NATO, the G8, the UN Security Council or the Commonwealth.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAndrew 25th May - 1:29am
    TCO Child centred learning came in in the 1960's in the wake of the Plowden report (which did many good things like nursery education as...
  • User AvatarAndrew 25th May - 1:04am
    I am afraid that the criticism of grammar schools on the basis of wealth and privileged applies in spades to comprehensive schools, and always has....
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 25th May - 12:53am
    Gosh, Jennie, how glad I am that I'm not a Twit! Can't you de-tweet these nasty Nats? I agree with Willie Rennie.
  • User AvatarTonyJ 25th May - 12:48am
    Agreed. Apart from anything else, this is a public forum, so anyone can see what you say. Tough questions, challenging opinions, even harsh judgements -...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 12:06am
    Hi Jennie. I suppose at first I didn't realise the liar tag was at stake again, but I still feel a general lack of consideration...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 11:44pm
    @Andrew spooky ... I've just done a you gov where the first questions were those grammar school questions. I understand your point about successful schools...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015