Tag Archives: benefits uprating bill

Opinion: what living on benefits really means

Rachel writes:

Every time I hear the phrase “a life on benefits”, it’s like a slap in the face to my brother, who lives in my spare room while looking for a job. He’s not lazy or a scrounger, he just can’t find a job. As Sarah Teather said two weeks ago

the term “scroungers” has become so pervasive in social consciousness that even those on benefits do not attempt to debunk the entire category, only to excuse themselves from the label.

I asked my brother if he was willing to share what his life on benefits was like:

Jonny writes:

Posted in Op-eds | 91 Comments

Benefits Uprating Bill: Andrew George and Charles Kennedy’s arguments AGAINST

The Government last night won the vote for its Benefits Uprating Bill, with the third and final reading passed by 305 votes to 246. A fortnight ago, six Lib Dem MPs voted against or abstained from the Coalition line that benefits rises should be capped at the same rate as public sector pay (a below inflation 1% pa) for each of the next three years.

Andrew George, Charles Kennedy and other Lib Dems sought to move an amendment to the Bill, linking future welfare increases to the rise in average earnings. However, time expired before it was put …

Posted in Parliament | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

++ Government wins vote on Benefits Uprating Bill; 6 Lib Dem MPs rebel

There were no serious doubts the Coalition Government’s Benefits Uprating Bill — pegging increases in welfare payments at a below-inflation 1%, the same as public sector wage rises, for the next three years — would be approved. The only question was the size of majority and how many Lib Dems would rebel (I’ve been keeping a running tally here this afternoon).

There were two votes tonight. First, a Labour amendment to the Bill, defeated by 321 votes to 262, a government majority of 59. Then a vote on the unamended second reading, which the government won by 324 votes to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 104 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlistair 26th May - 6:29am
    Eddie, what was wrong with Mers-el-Kébir in your opinion? It was clearly the right course of action at the time. The French Navy could have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 5:02am
    @jbt: "But does anyone care? The only test here that matters is whether people recognise and value the relationship." If you seriously intend to pursue...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 4:52am
    @jbt: "I have no problem with Irish voters. . . we recognise a kinship with them that we do not extend to others!" Have you...
  • User AvatarT-J 26th May - 1:57am
    I have very strong feelings about this. In my opinion, the Commonwealth is the most meaningless of international organisations - if it did not exist,...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 26th May - 1:37am
    I sense, I feel without undue justification, that the Lib Dems risk being portrayed in this upcoming referendum campaign as focusing on the wrong things...
  • User AvatarAndy Hinton 26th May - 1:30am
    Caron: Thanks for responding to my comment, and I'm genuinely heartened to read what you say. It's not that I'm unable to understand the genuine...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015