Tag Archives: benefits uprating bill

Opinion: what living on benefits really means

Rachel writes:

Every time I hear the phrase “a life on benefits”, it’s like a slap in the face to my brother, who lives in my spare room while looking for a job. He’s not lazy or a scrounger, he just can’t find a job. As Sarah Teather said two weeks ago

the term “scroungers” has become so pervasive in social consciousness that even those on benefits do not attempt to debunk the entire category, only to excuse themselves from the label.

I asked my brother if he was willing to share what his life on benefits was like:

Jonny writes:

Posted in Op-eds | 91 Comments

Benefits Uprating Bill: Andrew George and Charles Kennedy’s arguments AGAINST

The Government last night won the vote for its Benefits Uprating Bill, with the third and final reading passed by 305 votes to 246. A fortnight ago, six Lib Dem MPs voted against or abstained from the Coalition line that benefits rises should be capped at the same rate as public sector pay (a below inflation 1% pa) for each of the next three years.

Andrew George, Charles Kennedy and other Lib Dems sought to move an amendment to the Bill, linking future welfare increases to the rise in average earnings. However, time expired before it was put …

Posted in Parliament | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

++ Government wins vote on Benefits Uprating Bill; 6 Lib Dem MPs rebel

There were no serious doubts the Coalition Government’s Benefits Uprating Bill — pegging increases in welfare payments at a below-inflation 1%, the same as public sector wage rises, for the next three years — would be approved. The only question was the size of majority and how many Lib Dems would rebel (I’ve been keeping a running tally here this afternoon).

There were two votes tonight. First, a Labour amendment to the Bill, defeated by 321 votes to 262, a government majority of 59. Then a vote on the unamended second reading, which the government won by 324 votes to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 104 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 5:26pm
    John Bland Just to check, your suggestion is that Germany lends $190.4m at 0% to Greece? If I put the principle aside for a minute,...
  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 4:56pm
    David Allen “an extension of the loan period does to some extent offer something real to Greece, though it also prolongs the agony. A 30-year...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:52pm
    I have just read this article. I like it. I especially like the sentence -- "..If you do take a notion to care more, the...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:42pm
    Norman, Some more detail on Trident would be helpful. Very large sums of money are planned to be spent over very long periods. Waht Nick...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:38pm
    "It is in neither Britain’s interests nor the world’s to close ourselves off, but also that intervention abroad must be rooted in international law, decided...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:18pm
    Simon Gilbert 2nd Jul '15 - 2:41pm "... some difficult policy areas where there is no liberal mainstream political voice ..." Simon, Could you identify...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015