Tag Archives: bob walter

Proof that not *all* Tories are bonkers on Europe (and nor was Mrs Thatcher)

margaret thatcher europeAmidst all the Tory Euro-hysteria (‘Eurotic’, I’ve heard it described as: and I seriously hope I didn’t mis-hear) it’s easy to forget there are a few Tories, a diminishing if stoic band, who have kept tight hold of their senses.

And though it was David Cameron’s desperate last-ditch pitch for the job of Tory leader — his 2005 promise to his party’s Europhobes to withdraw the Tories from the mainstream centre-right EPP alliance, a policy even David Davis wouldn’t touch — which has, slowly but inevitably, dragged the party ever more fringewards, a few of his backbenchers remain hopeful they can persuade him, even now, to do the sensible thing.

Here’s some of what they’ve written to him:

We acknowledge the EU’s shortcomings and understand the desire and, under the Lisbon Treaty the possibility, to repatriate powers. However, we do our nation, as well as Europe, a disservice by not confidently exerting the same level of engagement and leadership as we demonstrate in organisations such as NATO, the G8, the UN Security Council or the Commonwealth.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 7 Comments

Most Read

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 11:15pm
    Mavarine Du-Marie - I presume you are talking about the right to have children. Of course, everyone should have the opportunity to experience this joy,...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 11:08pm
    @Peter: "The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing." I thought that was what marriage "to death do us...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 10:56pm
    The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing. Everyone should be entitled to that. Sadly, someone has to pay....
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 29th May - 10:48pm
    Jo Grimond was leader of the Liberal party in the 1960s. He was once asked; Isn't your Liberal party nothing more than a protest vote...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 29th May - 10:43pm
    The MPs are all men so perhaps: "We are the 48%" would make a better slogan.
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 29th May - 10:38pm
    John Dunn - 'can we really blame people for optimising profit from their skills.?' Oh, sure I agree - no blame attached to the staff....
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015