Tag Archives: booktrust

Mail on Sunday’s smears and innuendo against Miriam and Nick: Lib Dem statement released

Well, there’s a turn-up for the books — the Mail on Sunday in its first post-Leveson front page decides to play the man (and woman) rather than the ball, and splash on a desperately thin story implying some form of scandalous link between Miriam Gonz├ílez Dur├íntez’s support for Booktrust and the charity being given a government grant.

The paper’s baseless accusations get short shrift from the Lib Dems in this statement issued by the party tonight:

The decision to continue the funding for Booktrust was made by the Prime Minister

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 25 Comments

Opinion: time to close the book on Booktrust

The Government should have stuck to its guns, and ended its relationship with Booktrust.

There was never any withdrawal of funding or cut as far as I can tell. The last government signed a time-limited deal with the charity to dish out books to children of various ages. That contract is due to come to an end next April, and the Coalition has always had every intention of honouring that contract.

From the media coverage and the reaction of some, you might imagine that instead of not renewing a contract, the Coalition had instead decided to indulge in human …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 24 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Hayes 24th May - 10:05pm
    Well said. My own ex-MP will probably have to let people go because there is no funding. The same for the party, some will go...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 10:04pm
    @Martin Those low earning graduates you speak of will still have a huge and growing debt hanging over them that will hamper their efforts to...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 24th May - 10:00pm
    I attended Stephen Lloyd's "Thank You Party" on 24 May at the Afton hotel in Eastbourne. There was one gay Irishman celebrating the referendum result....
  • User AvatarDanny 24th May - 9:57pm
    A family example. My great grandfather was a small farmer. He and his rather large family had a small farm which would be considered way...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 9:52pm
    My first experience of political campaigning was delivering leaflets aged 10 in Ecclesall (Sheffield Hallam) against the abolition of grammar schools. My father, a life-long...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:48pm
    @Danny thank you that was most thought provoking. This is a subject which does deserve its own thread. Sadly I fear it will disappear from...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015