Tag Archives: boundary commission

Opinion: Boundary nonsense

Boundary - Some rights reserved by ank0kuOn the face of it, the boundary change proposals were about cutting costs by having less MPs and strengthening democracy by having each MP represent roughly identical numbers of voters. Neither of these claims bear close scrutiny.

Our democracy is not a simple thing – it struggles its way through the conflicting needs of the nation and the individual. It is unrealistic to base our representation on population statistics alone. It’s true that there are a few Parliamentary seats with fairly sparsely populated

Posted in Op-eds | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Hayes 24th May - 10:05pm
    Well said. My own ex-MP will probably have to let people go because there is no funding. The same for the party, some will go...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 10:04pm
    @Martin Those low earning graduates you speak of will still have a huge and growing debt hanging over them that will hamper their efforts to...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 24th May - 10:00pm
    I attended Stephen Lloyd's "Thank You Party" on 24 May at the Afton hotel in Eastbourne. There was one gay Irishman celebrating the referendum result....
  • User AvatarDanny 24th May - 9:57pm
    A family example. My great grandfather was a small farmer. He and his rather large family had a small farm which would be considered way...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 9:52pm
    My first experience of political campaigning was delivering leaflets aged 10 in Ecclesall (Sheffield Hallam) against the abolition of grammar schools. My father, a life-long...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:48pm
    @Danny thank you that was most thought provoking. This is a subject which does deserve its own thread. Sadly I fear it will disappear from...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015