Tag Archives: bus passes

Steve Webb writes: working for pensioners, now and in the future

When I was appointed Pensions Minister last May my first priority was protecting current pensioners. It was widely assumed that the spending review would see cuts to a range of forms of help that pensioners receive. But despite the spending pressures, the budgets for bus passes, free television licences, free prescriptions and the Winter Fuel Allowance have been protected at the level set out by the previous government. Better still, where Labour had planned to cut Cold Weather Payments to £8.50 per week we have made them £25 permanently to protect the most vulnerable when the temperature is below …

Posted in Op-eds and Parliament | Also tagged , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 4th Jul - 7:55pm
    In what way do you see this as "extending state powers"?
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 6:56pm
    Obama won against Clinton in 2008 because of Iraq and he was seen as being to the left of her, not because women are more...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 6:47pm
    @phyills. Somebody said something should be done about the entire poor working classes (me), but nobody said that it should solely be about poor working...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 4th Jul - 6:43pm
    These two sentences from the Guardian convince me that this should be opposed. "If said named person has any concerns about a child's welfare, they...
  • User AvatarSimon McGrath 4th Jul - 6:08pm
    To characterise concern about the state appointing an official to have responsibility for every child, regardless of whether they need support, as only being opposed...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 5:57pm
    Phyllis - blimey what would we do without you? xx Stuart - exactly. David - I take your points but there is sexism in our...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015