Tag Archives: catalonia

A letter from……Catalonia

As the UK plans a referendum on Scottish independence, those of us watching from Spain can only look on in envy at the orderly and civilised process led by the Secretary of State for Scotland. Here in Catalonia, Northern Spain, similar demand exists for an independent state, but the two sides have chosen indignation and confrontation instead of a serious debate.

The last two years have been tough for all EU governing parties and Spain has unique problems, with its sky-high unemployment levels, corruption and a rickety banking system. But this month Catalans will go to the polls in a general

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPaul Walter 8th Jul - 7:09am
    Sammy But the point is that the third reading of a bill often doesn't matter, and didn't in this case as demonstrated by the fact...
  • User AvatarTomas Howard-Jones 8th Jul - 12:48am
    John Tilley is right- the motivations and understanding of Islamic State ultimately are the same intellectual stable as that from the Saudi- Wahabist grip on...
  • User AvatarTonyJ 8th Jul - 12:34am
    This is a great speech. Really. I love it. And I hate to criticise any of it. But... "Close your eyes and think of England...
  • User AvatarTomas Howard-Jones 8th Jul - 12:29am
    Rest assured at least that the catastrophic situation in Syria and growth of "Islamic State" would undoubtedly have been far, far worse, if the British...
  • User AvatarAndrew 8th Jul - 12:16am
    We can't ignore the EU referendum - it is going to dominate the news fotr months and is the biggest single issue facing the country...
  • User Avatarnigel hunter 8th Jul - 12:13am
    This article is so relevant it should find its way to the national press,
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015