Tag Archives: catalonia

A letter from……Catalonia

As the UK plans a referendum on Scottish independence, those of us watching from Spain can only look on in envy at the orderly and civilised process led by the Secretary of State for Scotland. Here in Catalonia, Northern Spain, similar demand exists for an independent state, but the two sides have chosen indignation and confrontation instead of a serious debate.

The last two years have been tough for all EU governing parties and Spain has unique problems, with its sky-high unemployment levels, corruption and a rickety banking system. But this month Catalans will go to the polls in a general

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarBolano 26th May - 12:22pm
    @Joe Otten 26th May '15 - 12:05pm "Bolano, the list of people who are premoderated is biassed against people who ignore the comments policy. In...
  • User AvatarSue S 26th May - 12:21pm
    I am definitely going for Tim Farron as I believe the membership has to show the general public that we were all as upset about...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 26th May - 12:20pm
    Joe Otten I do not think I have ever "whined" about having all my comments "pre-moderated". I have on the odd occasion suggested that it...
  • User AvatarJoe Otten 26th May - 12:15pm
    AndrewR, That would be a welcome change to policy. I could trash whatever I liked and there would be none of this comeback. The John...
  • User AvatarNigel Jones 26th May - 12:11pm
    Martin: It is wrong to imply that Norman is best if we wish to be in government, otherwise Tim might be better. That is a...
  • User AvatarJonathan Pile 26th May - 12:11pm
    @Joe Otten Firstly I see that you have stepped back from your incorrect statement that Zero posted are censored. As you and I know, many...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015