Tag Archives: chris giles

Labour’s VAT cut: bad economics and disingenuous politics

In the run-up to today’s county council elections, Ed Miliband has been taking to a wooden pallet in towns and villages around the UK, telling anybody who would listen about Labour’s plan to rescue the British economy by temporarily reversing the 2.5 percentage point increase in the rate of VAT.

Desperate, though, to avoid admitting this would involve a significant increase in borrowing, he’s been telling us that this would actually be a free tax cut because the economic growth that resulted from it would increase revenues by more than the upfront cost.

That unlikely-sounding claim was given short shrift by …

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 32 Comments

Welfare: right policy, wrong reasons?

Many column inches have been filled with comment over the government’s decision to restrict a number of benefits and tax credits to increases of 1% over the next couple of years.

This piece (£), however, by the FT’s economics editor, Chris Giles, warrants a special mention, not least because it is makes some interesting points that nobody else seems to have done.

Here’s a (fairly lengthy) extract:

In any case, good evidence exists on living standards to assess the merits of restricting benefit uprating. According to the most recent year of data, 2010-11, the crisis has caused real household net incomes around the

Posted in News | Also tagged | 16 Comments

The Weekend Debate: Bank of England independence – an economic success story or a well-intentioned failure?

Here’s your starter for ten in our weekend slot where we throw up an idea or thought for debate…

The Liberal Democrat 1997 manifesto said the following:

We will turn the Bank of England into a UK Reserve Bank, free from political interference. We will charge the Bank with keeping inflation low and make it accountable to Parliament for achieving this goal.

Of course after Labour’s landslide victory in that election, one of Gordon Brown’s first decisions as chancellor was to borrow this Lib Dem policy and essentially transfer responsibility for monetary policy to the Bank of England.

Most Labour politicians look back on …

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarManfarang 26th May - 12:29am
    "And then what is the point of allowing a vote to British people who’ve gone in their tens of thousands to Spain to live" Many...
  • User AvatarRyan 25th May - 11:37pm
    Nonny Mouse-" If Nicola Sturgeon had a document suggesting that Nick Clegg actively wanted a Tory government and would not under any circumstance work with...
  • User AvatarSamuel Griffiths 25th May - 11:34pm
    What on earth happened here? Why is it I seem to miss all the interesting drama that happens. It's a bank holiday people! You should...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 11:18pm
    We need a renewed focus on getting Lib Dems back into government. Probably not in coalition, but I haven't felt this powerless for a long...
  • User AvatarRyan 25th May - 11:15pm
    Caron Lindsay-"I’d rather have a leader who acted like a liberal, acknowledged his colleague’s wrong-doing and the penalties he had faced and stuck by him...
  • User AvatarTCO 25th May - 11:10pm
    @Paul barker "Are we going to have people droning on about Clegg or “Orange Bookers” for the next 7 years ?" I think you already...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015