Tag Archives: chris skidmore

Your essential weekend reader — 12 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday morning, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices…

The lottery of life: Where to be born in 2013The Economist‘s annual list of the top quality-of-life countries: ‘Being rich helps more than anything else, but it is not all that counts; things like crime, trust in public institutions and the health of family life matter too.’ Britain comes 27th. (The Telegraph has a picture-only version here.)

The burdens that Israel should not have to bearBrendan

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Hebditch 1st Jul - 4:06pm
    I was astonished to see Paddy Ashdown's call for a progressive alliance across Labour, Lib Dems and the Greens. What has he been doing for...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 1st Jul - 3:51pm
    There is no need for fracking in the UK to provide gas for baseload electricity. Humanity has already found more fossil fuel than can be...
  • User AvatarSimon Foster 1st Jul - 3:37pm
    Thanks for the link Matthew. Approved subjects is the language used throughout my college, but with the meaning of facilitating that you've described. Swings, roundabouts...
  • User AvatarJohn Stevens 1st Jul - 3:33pm
    I do not have a vote in this contest. However, for what it's worth, In so far as I can judge, on European commitment and...
  • User AvatarPeter 1st Jul - 3:33pm
    If Mr Farron bans fracking, how does he propose to run the grid without gas fired electricity if political events interfere with our gas imports?...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 1st Jul - 3:31pm
    @Andrew No Lib Dem seats were secured in the North West constituency in the last European Election. There was no win. Even if there had...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015