Tag Archives: clapham

How leaflets used to look: Clapham 1955

Continuing my occasional series on how election leaflets used to look, this one is a Labour freepost election address from the 1955 general election in Clapham constituency.

The front of the leaflet is a design unlikely to be used today:

Labour election leaflet, Clapham, 1955 (front)

Dated too is the right-hand side of the inside, with its appeal from the candidate’s wife to female voters –¬†a common tactic at the time.¬†Despite the old-fashioned typography, the layout is clear and easy to read …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Evershed 3rd Jul - 11:28am
    UKIP gained votes from other parties because of their recognition that immigration and its impact on housing and public services in some specific localities. The...
  • User AvatarDavid Evershed 3rd Jul - 11:21am
    As a matter of principle, following devolution to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, English MPs should be able to block MPs from non English constituencies...
  • User AvatarStephen W 3rd Jul - 11:16am
    A councillor is a member of a council A counsellor is someone who gives counsel. One may be both or either.
  • User AvatarTonyJ 3rd Jul - 11:14am
    Only in this party could such a fantastic, spectacular piece of news degenerate within 3 comments to a semantic discussion about spelling! Come on people....
  • User AvatarSimon 3rd Jul - 11:07am
    One area where children are often open to exploitation and abuse is if they go missing from the care of local councils. Caroline Pidgeon has...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 3rd Jul - 10:48am
    They are the same word. Certainly the two spellings used to be interchangeable.
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015