Tag Archives: cohabiting couples

Opinion: Rights for cohabiting couples

The progress of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill through Parliament, with its Second Reading in the House of Commons, should be a cause of celebration amongst Liberal Democrats. As a party we have been, on the whole, united behind these proposals and we should applaud the leadership that Nick Clegg, Lynne Featherstone and, let’s give credit where it is due, David Cameron have demonstrated on this particular issue.

Working in Coalition, Liberal Democrats have introduced legislation which will secure equal marriage in law. I doubt very much whether a single party government, whether Conservative or Labour led, would have dared …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 49 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 13th Oct - 2:26pm
    UKIP have lost control of their only council, in Thanet, Kent, by defection to Independents. They aimed to be boring, but failed.
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 13th Oct - 1:50pm
    This is the right choice. It is often said of party leaders that they surround themselves with yes men. Well that cannot be said here....
  • User AvatarHenry Fisher 13th Oct - 1:43pm
    Good to read your POV Psi, sounds like we're largely on the same page. As ever, the devil is in the detail with these things...
  • User AvatarFlorence Wright 13th Oct - 1:28pm
    Geraldine has impeccable spelling - her enthusiastic daughter (me) who did the tweet for her has awful spelling. Mum provides fantastic council and counselling.
  • User AvatarPsi 13th Oct - 1:25pm
    A social liberal “2) Do we supply drugs which have the potential to turn the client into maniacs – angel dust, crystal meth and crack...
  • User AvatarDavid Wallace 13th Oct - 1:22pm
    @ChrisB Seen it all before, the lib dems are rallying their base. Then they'll be giving a more skeptical group a different messaging saying that...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015