Tag Archives: cohabiting couples

Opinion: Rights for cohabiting couples

The progress of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill through Parliament, with its Second Reading in the House of Commons, should be a cause of celebration amongst Liberal Democrats. As a party we have been, on the whole, united behind these proposals and we should applaud the leadership that Nick Clegg, Lynne Featherstone and, let’s give credit where it is due, David Cameron have demonstrated on this particular issue.

Working in Coalition, Liberal Democrats have introduced legislation which will secure equal marriage in law. I doubt very much whether a single party government, whether Conservative or Labour led, would have dared …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 48 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSir Norfolk Passmore 1st Jul - 1:38pm
    This seems to me to be another example of headline grabbing populism which doesn't survive scrutiny. Even with a big increase in renewables (which the...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 1st Jul - 1:21pm
    The euro works just fine — as a common French-German-Benelux currency.
  • User AvatarPhyllis 1st Jul - 1:19pm
    Paul Walter 1st Jul '15 - 12:32pm "Phyllis Of course I take the issue of trust seriously. I am just not sure how many times...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 1st Jul - 1:14pm
    I'm confused. I don't mind uncomfortable policies. Change is always an uncomfortable process. But if Liberalism fits our age and most people already support liberal...
  • User AvatarAlex marsh 1st Jul - 1:13pm
    More negative campaigning from Lamb. In light of all these digs towards Farron I really do wonder how much Lamb actually knew about the push...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 1:03pm
    Simon Foster I have secondary school colleagues who still don’t know what all of the Russell Group approved subjects are (Maths is one of them,...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015