Tag Archives: communication

Chickens, eggs, Twitter and report abuse buttons

In the last 24 hours, over 40,000 people have signed an e-petition calling on Twitter to install a “report abuse button.” This was started after journalist Caroline Crialdo-Perez suffered numerous tweeted threats of rape and sexual assault in the wake of her successful campaign to have Jane Austen put on a bank note. Shewrote for the Independent about her experience both of the abuse and the support she’d received in return. Ishould warn you that if you click on the link you will see some examples of the tweets she was sent:

These are all tweets from men. Men who

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , and | 14 Comments

Opinion: No social media identity? Be very afraid

Twitter logoYesterday the government chief scientist issued a thoughtful Foresight report on social media and social identity. It has important implications for political campaigning. For those in a hurry, here is the main message in a tweet:

@andybodders No online identity? You will fade out of existence #beveryafraid

The report uses rather more eloquent words to express this:

As people have become accustomed to switching seamlessly between the

Posted in Online politics and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Gilbert 26th May - 4:22pm
    Mick demonstrates perfectly a policy that would be radical, liberal yet neither 'right' nor 'left'. This is the kind of choice the electorate don't have,...
  • User Avatartheakes 26th May - 4:20pm
    EVEN SO, who is responsible then? Who is accountable for the two thousand lost councilors, the MEPS and MPs and the £170, 000 in lost...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 26th May - 4:15pm
    Iain Roberts, I agree, but there are plenty who demonise those on the left too. As you say: it works both ways. I have sometimes...
  • User Avatartheakes 26th May - 4:12pm
    Sara, quite right, I said this yesterday a family is tied by blood. We are a political organisation, we should cease the sentimental approach as...
  • User AvatarDaniel Henry 26th May - 4:09pm
    I strongly agree with the article. I think George, Tony, g et al have all misunderstood what Iain is saying. I think we all agree...
  • User AvatarAnne 26th May - 3:59pm
    Demonise the rich, nothing happens to them. Demonise the poor, they starve.
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015