Tag Archives: conor gearty

Your essential weekend reader — 12 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday morning, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices…

The lottery of life: Where to be born in 2013The Economist‘s annual list of the top quality-of-life countries: ‘Being rich helps more than anything else, but it is not all that counts; things like crime, trust in public institutions and the health of family life matter too.’ Britain comes 27th. (The Telegraph has a picture-only version here.)

The burdens that Israel should not have to bearBrendan

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSIMON BANKS 27th May - 8:49pm
    Thanks for this post, David. Another point to note is that people were engaged and excited by an issue which affected very few of them...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:47pm
    David Allan "Why should this suddenly reverse when it is the rich we are talking about? Why is it that the best way to justify...
  • User Avatarnvelope2003 27th May - 8:42pm
    R Rossim: No of course it was not the reason for the election result but I think many people felt that some of the things...
  • User Avatarhugh 27th May - 8:41pm
    Joe, the Conservative got the support of less than 1 in 4 of those eligible to vote. They do not represent the people of this...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 27th May - 8:39pm
    Whilst no doubt some of the detail is debatable, your direction of travel is spot on. We need to move away from a party that...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:37pm
    Matthew Huntbach "It’s not just down to luck, unless by “luck” you include being lucky with the parents you had." I don't agree most is...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015