Tag Archives: constitutional reform and governance bill

Chris Rennard writes… So what was all the fuss in Parliament about?

Late on Wednesday night Nick Clegg was at the back of the House of Lords to see Royal Assent granted to the Parliamentary Voting Systems and Constituencies Bill.

His presence there emphasised his achievement in getting this Bill through Parliament in time to enable the referendum on switching to the Alternative Vote to take place on May 5th.

Of course people may not vote to change from First Past the Post. But I have never thought that any measure of electoral reform for Westminster would come about without a referendum. The self-preservation instincts of many MPs means that they are never …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 10 Comments

Carmichael moves to end MP-MSP dual mandates

Alistair Carmichael, Liberal Democrat Shadow Scotland Secretary, has tabled amendments to the Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill aimed at bringing an end to MSPs and MPs holding both jobs at the same time.

The amendments follow legislation backed by both the Government and the Conservatives which seeks to end ‘double jobbing’ by Members of the Northern Ireland Assembly (MLAs) who are also MPs. They offer two options:

  • a measure which would end the ability of MPs who are also MSPs to receive salaries from both jobs, along the same lines as the Government and Conservative-backed legislation on MLAs and intended to act as

Posted in Election law, Parliament and Scotland | Also tagged | 6 Comments

More general election counts set to be held on Thursday following legal change

The Government has backed a move to amend election law to ensure that general election counts are started on the evening of polling day, exception in exceptional circumstances.

This exception will mean that counts for constituencies where there are severe logistical problems in getting ballot boxes in from polling stations, such as from Scottish islands, are likely to continue to commence on Fridays. However, for other constituencies counts will commence on Thursday evening.

The new clause in the Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill will require the counting of votes at a UK Parliamentary general elections to commence within four hours of the …

Posted in Election law and General Election | Also tagged and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:43pm
    adrian sanders We once said to the other parties don’t pick up the phone unless you are prepared to concede on PR. Dropping this was...
  • User AvatarMichael Beckett 27th May - 2:38pm
    Rural and urban parity of funding bill. Various funding formulas have under costed the effects of rurality on service provision including the NHS. Corrections are...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:28pm
    Psi I really hope that is a joke. This myth of the “left wing north & Scotland” and “right wing south” is ridiculous. There were...
  • User AvatarTrevor Stables 27th May - 2:23pm
    I forgot to say...This is not a Party Political Matter and must remain a matter of conscience.
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 2:22pm
    Matthew Huntbach “So you just assume they have put work in to get where they have. Are you quite sure that’s always the case for...
  • User AvatarJoshua Dixon 27th May - 2:22pm
    Not backing Norman but I agree with him on this.
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015