Tag Archives: corporatoin tax

Opinion: Get real about corporate tax

Companies currently pay corporation tax in the country where they are incorporated. A campaign is under way, in the Guardian, and the Commons Public Accounts Committee, that companies should instead pay tax where they make their sales. The proposal has populist appeal, but is impracticable.

Many companies, including UK companies, make export sales without costly incorporation in each sales country. If a US coal producer sells 1m tonnes of coal to UK powerplants for £100m, and makes £5m profit, it submits accounts in the US for tax authority scrutiny, and pays US tax on the £5m. Should this profit be …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 5:26pm
    John Bland Just to check, your suggestion is that Germany lends $190.4m at 0% to Greece? If I put the principle aside for a minute,...
  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 4:56pm
    David Allen “an extension of the loan period does to some extent offer something real to Greece, though it also prolongs the agony. A 30-year...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:52pm
    I have just read this article. I like it. I especially like the sentence -- "..If you do take a notion to care more, the...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:42pm
    Norman, Some more detail on Trident would be helpful. Very large sums of money are planned to be spent over very long periods. Waht Nick...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:38pm
    "It is in neither Britain’s interests nor the world’s to close ourselves off, but also that intervention abroad must be rooted in international law, decided...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:18pm
    Simon Gilbert 2nd Jul '15 - 2:41pm "... some difficult policy areas where there is no liberal mainstream political voice ..." Simon, Could you identify...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015