Tag Archives: councillors

Setting up a Network of Experience

Liberal Democrat badge - Some rights reserved by Paul Walter, Newbury, UKWe have so many people in the party that have held office of one sort or another over the years. We must make sure that we find a way of retaining their expertise and at the same time give them the support that they need.

I have been thinking about setting up this new network for sometime but I think now, more than ever, it is the right time to do it. For too long many elected members who have lost their seats feel that their contribution to the party hasn’t been properly appreciated.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 14 Comments

Opinion: Can anyone explain the Lib Dem obsession with potholes?

Ruwan pot holingI read August’s AdLib today with much dismay. I wonder how many of us have found ourselves squatting beside a hole in the road, posing for a photograph, and subsequently pondered on why we weren’t voted in?

I completely understand the rationale of acknowledging local priorities and the important safety considerations of potholed roads, but are we getting our priorities right when we establish major campaigns over such mind-numbing issues?

Surely the focus on these little concerns, at the expense of far more important and life-altering policies, only diminishes LibDems in the perceptions of potential voters?

Do we really want to be viewed as pettifogging obsessives about the depth of tarmac when essential services such as schools, health, housing and social care are under threat?

Although I am repeatedly advised by the pundits and pollsters “This is what the focus groups are talking about” I do not find that this is the first concern on the electorate’s lips when we talk on the doorstep. Voters want to know about drops in local education standards, the lack of public transport to enable rural employment and, increasingly, the loathed bedroom tax.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 49 Comments

Opinion: Pickles pensions off councillors

The winning Kendal Town CouncillorsSome of you may have heard this brief anecdote before.

Some years ago a civil servant appeared in St Albans attempting to sell some ‘new’ ideas from the Government of the day about local government. He stood up before various district and county councillors in Hertfordshire and announced that ‘in future the Government wanted councillors to represent the people to the town hall rather than the other way round.’

He said it without malice or irony and as a result was not lynched – turning up some years later to dismantle the Audit Commission.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 25 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 30th May - 3:09pm
    Those who know Nick Clegg, including Tim Farron, have given very positive comments about him. We should not have allowed the media and our opponents...
  • User AvatarJenny Tonge 30th May - 3:05pm
    Why not break with convention and have new leader from the House of Lords? Surely a good idea for the re -build that must go...
  • User AvatarDave Raval 30th May - 2:53pm
    No, I don't want to join the other parties, for the reason the author states. I believe in fairness, equality of opportunity and the environment,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 30th May - 2:48pm
    I'm sorry, but this fearmongering about "Vladimir Putin gets to write your human rights laws" is pretty low. It doesn't work that way.
  • User AvatarDavid Howarth 30th May - 2:46pm
    @Jedi I did read what you said. It is you who have no sense of proportion. You are proposing unilaterally to pull out of a...
  • User AvatarMichael Parsons 30th May - 2:37pm
    The current government has the support of less than 25% of the electorate. The truth may be that that Parliament is after all unreformable. Change...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015