Tag Archives: credit agencies

UK loses its triple-A rating – George should’ve listened to Danny

The BBC reports tonight’s predictable news:

UK’s AAA credit rating cut to Aa1 by Moody’s
The UK has had its AAA credit rating cut by Moody’s, based on its expectation that growth will “remain sluggish over the next few years”. The ratings agency became the first to lower the UK from its highest rating, to Aa1. … The UK’s net sovereign debt was the equivalent of 68% of the country’s annual economic output, or GDP, at the end of last year. All three major credit agencies last year put the UK on “negative outlook”, meaning they could downgrade its rating if

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 54 Comments

Danny Alexander: UK’s triple-A credit rating “not be-all and end-all”

Lib Dem chief secretary to the treasury Danny Alexander has signalled an interesting shift in the government’s economic approach, downplaying the significance to the economy of the UK’s continuing triple-A credit rating. Here’s what he told the BBC (courtesy of PoliticsHome):

“The credit rating is not the be-all and end-all. What matters is have we got the right policy mix for the country to get people back into work, to support economic growth, to deal with the huge problems in our public finances and the credit agencies reflect on those things and the ratings they give are a reflection of

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

LibLink … Chris Huhne: These mystery men can break governments

Lib Dem shadow home secretary Chris Huhne has an article in today’s Times noting that how much it costs the Treasury to borrow money depends on three ratings agencies … and asks the crucial question: are they fit to wield this power?

Chris’s credential for writing an article outside his brief? Well, he founded the sovereign group at Fitch Ratings, and was group managing director. Here’s an excerpt:

Last week Moody’s — one of the big three international ratings agencies — warned that the UK’s top bond rating would be under threat if Britain failed to sort out its public finances

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 8:53pm
    @matthew. Can't you vote green to stop the Tories too if that is the party you like best? If you say "no the lib dems...
  • User AvatarCharlie 3rd Jul - 8:27pm
    Roger Lake I never said all coalitions did not work: liberal and labour , liberal and tory, perhaps tory and ukip but liberal, labour, green...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 8:26pm
    Thanks John! I am fully in favour of referendums in Scotland and they have had one! My argument is also one against free trade, with...
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 8:17pm
    @phyllis: a family eh? You know, whenever I hear anything described as a family, other than an actual family, I always think 'religious cult'. Anyway...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 3rd Jul - 7:28pm
    @David Over a decade ago people in one artificially drawn region of the UK rejected an assembly of extra layer of full time politicians who'd...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 3rd Jul - 7:28pm
    David, I have long thought exactly what you have just said but was not brave enough to say so on here. The Lib Dems are...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015