Tag Archives: di keal

The other local elections: Lib Dems gain five and hold three

The Liberal Democrats have gained five council seats and retained all three of their previously-held seats in the raft of council by-elections they were contesting yesterday.

In Wallsend, North Tyneside, Michael Huscroft gained from Labour with 58.2%, or 1158 votes.

David Siddans won in Rossett, Harrogate Borough Council, with 48.9% of the vote (897), in a 25.6% swing from the Tories.

From the Harrogate Advertiser:

Councillor John Fox, Constituency Chairman, Harrogate and Knaresborough Liberal Democrats said: “This is the first Liberal Democrat gain from the Conservatives in the north of England this year. We are absolutely delighted to have overturned a

Posted in Council by-elections | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Morris 24th May - 9:32am
    The weirdest line is the article is when he suggests that all the decisions made strategically were the best that could be made. Um ....
  • User AvatarTony Rowan-Wicks 24th May - 9:32am
    Can we now forget the 'strategies' which lost around 50 MPs and thousands of other fine party workers over the 5 years - and focus...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:23am
    @jenny many on the right of the party will vote for Farron. The available field is not a huge one and were it to have...
  • User AvatarFiona White 24th May - 9:21am
    Thank you for your views, Ryan Coetzee. I do agree that we must reunite and rebuild but that is a strategy most of us could...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 24th May - 9:21am
    The view from Ham Common seems a lot clearer than the view from Cape Town -- http://aviewfromhamcommon.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/one-stands-out-for-me-in-ryan-coetzees.html
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:21am
    Edis Bevan "Since we are moving to OMOV for Federal Conference the special status of FC Reps vanishes." Excellent - if it means what I...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015