Tag Archives: disestablishment

Lib Link: Paul Tyler on establishment of the church

York Minster by Paul WalterOur own Stephen Tall broke the story last Slownewsday that disestablishment of the Church of England is a longer-term project than the Times and Telegraph might have realised.

Now Paul Tyler in Lords of the Blog, addresses the reasons for the historical presence of Bishops in the House of Lords as ‘Money, not Morals’.

I am a practising Anglican (trying to improve) but I have been firmly committed to disestablishment for over 50 years, for the sake of both church and state. The muddled

Posted in LibLink | 6 Comments

Women bishops in the CofE: what Lib Dem members think

Lib Dem Voice polled our members-only forum recently to discover what Lib Dem members think of various political issues, the Coalition, and the performance of key party figures. Some 550 party members have responded, and we’re publishing the full results.

84% think the CofE should allow women to be come bishops

women bishops
In November the Church of England’s Synod failed to pass a vote that would have allowed women to become bishops. Do you think the Church of England should or should not allow women to become bishops?

    84% – Should allow

Posted in LDV Members poll | Also tagged , and | 10 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 27th May - 12:36pm
    Keith, I agree with you about looking at the whole thing in the round. I think we really need to talk more about death and...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 12:35pm
    Anne shall I mention Bedroom Tax Yes, every council house vacated by someone who didn't need one that big would have been given to a...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 27th May - 12:34pm
    I can't say how disappointing it is to read that an excellent Care Minister in the last government - someone who knows how depression, fear...
  • User Avatargavin grant 27th May - 12:34pm
    Well said Norman! From the Young Liberals championing of gay rights, through David Steel's Abortion Act to Lynne Featherstone's championing of equal marriage ee have...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 12:34pm
    JohnTilley “A policy of income tax cuts presented as being implicitly “good” will always be explained in “very Tory terms” because it is a very...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 27th May - 12:32pm
    ChrisB, I think we're going to have to agree to disagree. We have a comments policy and we moderate comments to that policy. We don't...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015