Tag Archives: don giovanni

Daily View 2×2: 29 October 2009

Good morning and welcome to October 29th. Today is the anniversary of the first performance of Mozart’s Don Giovanni, the birthday of Boswell, the biographer of Samuel L Jackson, and the anniversary of the death of Sir Walter Raleigh (he was executed – I didn’t know that.)

It’s also the fifth anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome, which first set up a Constitution for Europe.

2 Big Stories

The postal strike is on
Read all about it on the Times, the Telegraph and the Guardian:

Both sides blamed each other after three days of talks mediated by the TUC collapsed without a deal being reached. As late as evening there had still been some hope that this week’s strike action could be called off to relieve the pressure on Royal Mail.

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMick Taylor 5th Jul - 3:55pm
    George Potter I can't speak for other regions, but here in Yorkshire we have our own conference and make policy as a region and yes,...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 5th Jul - 3:35pm
    Just as the UK is culturally and economically diverse, we must recognise this to be true for England and its regions also. The continuation of...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 5th Jul - 2:39pm
    @ T-J - " Mick Taylor, in many ways I wasn’t English until I came to Scotland. Nasty xenophobic nationalism has just been a fact...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 5th Jul - 2:31pm
    60,000 migrants. So, this is roughly 90 refugees per constituency in Britain, presumably not all coming at once. Hardly scary electorally, surely, even if manipulated...
  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 5th Jul - 2:24pm
    Cornwall and most of Devon have been cut off from the rest of UK severals times in recent years due to errosion on the line...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015