Tag Archives: drones

ALDE Congress passes UK Liberal Democrat motion calling for a halt to drone attacks

On 28th, 29th, and 30th Nov, the Annual Congress of European liberal parties in the European Parliament and beyond, (ALDE) met in London. The ‘pan-European’ liberal manifesto was agreed for the upcoming Euro elections, (no mean feat !), and several other resolutions were passed.

The UK Lib Dems had one motion on the agenda. This was an emergency motion on armed drone attacks, put forward following new on-the-ground data from the UN and others on civilians being killed, and following a European defence meeting which failed to address the illegality of the attacks, instead focusing on the capacity of ‘Europe’ to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 16 Comments

LibLink…Paddy Ashdown: If you’re opposed to drones, then think again

In Liberal Democrat circles, when Barack Obama is discussed, it’s generally agreed that he’s doing a grand job except for the not insignificant matter of the extra-judicial killings and the use of unmanned drone attacks.

Paddy Ashdown has expressed a different view writing in today’s Times describing drones as the most “democratic” weapon ever invented.

As a lifelong peace-loving hippy, you’d expect that I would have been the first to head Paddy’s advice:

 war is a revolting practice and cannot be discussed without using revolting words. So the squeamish and those morally offended by all violence should look away now.

I didn’t, though. Partly …

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , , and | 19 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJennie 1st Jul - 9:58pm
    Excellent article Caron, thank you
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 9:54pm
    "And btw how did you manage to edit your post??" I'm on the editorial team. I can do anything. ;-)
  • User AvatarAndrew 1st Jul - 9:54pm
    Peter, I do however have some sympathy with your view about destroying the world economy. I would be moving the discussion on to putting money...
  • User AvatarAntony Hook 1st Jul - 9:50pm
    Speaking as Catherine's running mate last year, no-one knows better than I that she is a tireless servant of the people of the South East...
  • User AvatarAndrew 1st Jul - 9:44pm
    Peter, I don't really want to get into a discussion of the details of climate change models. However I am pretty sure the summary for...
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 1st Jul - 9:30pm
    IMF director Paulo Batista says that the bailout money went to save the skins of German and French banks: http://www.keeptalkinggreece.com/2015/03/04/imfs-director-batista-greek-bailout-was-to-save-german-french-banks-video/
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015