Tag Archives: early intervention

The Independent View: Slashing early years spending contradicts the desire to improve social mobility

In its Social Mobility strategy launched last April, the government made clear the dual priorities shaping its agenda:

“Tackling the financial deficit is the Coalition’s most immediate task. But tackling the opportunity deficit – creating an open, socially mobile society – is our guiding purpose.”

These are strong words indeed, marking an unequivocal commitment to improving the life chances of children from disadvantaged backgrounds. At a very minimum, they indicate a clear intention to manage the necessary public spending cuts in a way that recognises this laudable goal.

Posted in The Independent View | Also tagged , , , , and | 4 Comments

Opinion: Early years intervention is a smart move

It’s unusual for my morning radio alarm to bring me to wakefulness quite so abruptly as it did today with the coverage of MP Graham Allen’s report on giving disadvantaged children the best start in life. Something so important being given leading coverage is good news.

Although it probably isn’t news to most working the sector, nor many Liberal Democrats I suspect, it is very welcome that high-profile, cross party attention is now being given to idea that early intervention to improve social and emotional development will yield great dividends for
the child and society later in its life.

The report …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 15 Comments

Most Read

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 9:09pm
    @Peter: "They are concerned that some people who work long and hard and struggle to pay their taxes because of low income are actually supporting...
  • User AvatarKaterina Porter 29th May - 9:08pm
    We rarely get such a thoughtful excellent speech
  • User AvatarAndrew Whyte 29th May - 9:03pm
    The "Yellowsurge" (sorry Natalie) is fantastic, but can I issue a plea to NOT turn off these new recruits by dumping 4000 FOCI on them,...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 29th May - 8:31pm
    Charlie - 'Zero hours contracts occur because the employer operates in a highly volatile market which is most likely low skilled service sector which is...
  • User AvatarDavid 29th May - 8:24pm
    @Jenny. Indeed. And an anti Tory vote is exactly what you would expect the lib dems to have in seats won with that "it's a...
  • User AvatarTCO 29th May - 8:23pm
    @Peter your example s above are thought provoking. Too many like brianD above reach for the "evil" comfort blanket without ever trying to appreciate the...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015