Tag Archives: end of life

Norman Lamb writes: The Liverpool Care Pathway and end of life care

I imagine many people had not heard of the Liverpool Care Pathway before it hit the headlines a couple of weeks ago with allegations of patients denied drugs, liquid and sustenance and families experiencing real distress. Set up in the late 1990s, its intention was to help spread elements of the hospice model of care into other settings: hospitals, care homes and people’s own homes. We all want to know that our loved ones – no matter where they are – will receive dignified and appropriate care in the last hours and days of their life.

Used properly, the Pathway ensures that individuals receive whatever treatments are right for them in their final days. The Liverpool Care Pathway itself is very clear that patients should be involved in decisions about their care if possible, and that carers and families should always be included in the decision-making process.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarManfarang 6th Jul - 3:00am
    I wonder how this named person will deal with a child from an ethnic and religious minority.
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 6th Jul - 1:04am
    The Scottish conference passed a motion a year or so back supporting an investigation into LVT as a replacement for Business Rates (as far as...
  • User AvatarT-J 6th Jul - 12:44am
    Any changes to the way the English party works must factor in ways to account for the regional diversity in England. Indeed, an additional English...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 6th Jul - 12:20am
    It was wishy washy in the sense that it had no sense of what powers would be involved, what model of accountability devolution would have...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:57pm
    Sorry if this is a dumb question. 'for England we have a wishy-washy “devolution on demand” policy, some regional parties with policies for their own...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:50pm
    'Importantly, we need to develop the best policy possible to help bring stability into the region as soon as we can.' Well...with respect (and I...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015