Tag Archives: equidistance

Perils of Equidistance

Nick Clegg’s speech to the annual conference struck a firmly equidistant tone with

We’re not trying to get back into Government to fold into one of the other parties – we want to be there to anchor them to the liberal centre ground, right in the centre, bang in the middle. We’re not here to prop up the two party system: we’re here to bring it down.

backed up with a list of Conservative policies blocked, and a promise to block some Labour policies – once we know what they are – …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 39 Comments

Equidistance 2.0 – Clegg attacks “fantasy world politics” of Tories AND Labour

clegg cameron milibandThe Coalition may be limbering up to announce its mid-term review, billed as Coalition 2.0, early in the New Year. But it looks like Nick Clegg is going from something of a pre-emptive strike, perhaps closer to Equidistance 2.0, in a speech tomorrow. The Observer reports today that he will up the ante of anti-Tory rhetoric, saying:

“The Tory right dreams of a fantasy world where we can walk away from the EU but magically keep our economy strong; where we can pretend that the world hasn’t

Posted in News | Also tagged | 13 Comments

Opinion: Liberal Democrats must stay true to our traditions post 2015

The period between now and the next general election in 2015 will be crucial in deciding the immediate future of the Liberal Democrats-but the post general election period will have a much longer term significance. I have long been one of those Liberal Democrats who believe that the word ’Liberal’ has been a little to silent in the party name – as policies around goldfish at fairs and ever increasing public spending without corresponding accountability have cast the party a long way from the roots developed by Beveridge, Keynes and Gladstone.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , and | 65 Comments

Opinion: Equidistance is as important now as it ever was in opposition

Liberals, I put it to you that we are neither wannabe conservatives nor right wing Labourites. We are distinct as Liberal Democrats and need to start making this clear.

The small ‘c’, conservatives who fought for a no vote in the referendum show, at heart, narrow party interest drives activists in both Labour and Conservative parties. As long as they remain tribal, with every motivation checked against what is best for party, it will prove fatal if we continue to seek pluralism in a world where pluralism is derided and to ignore the self preservation of our own party and values.

Instead …

Posted in Op-eds | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatardavid 30th May - 7:14pm
    “Now, his message is one of division, ours is one of uniting people." Don't think the public would have a clue what that means -...
  • User AvatarMartin 30th May - 6:54pm
    Not Who I say I am: Don't you think that 'Newshound' is who they say they are? - Anyone from the LDV team who hounds...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 30th May - 6:25pm
    For going beyond tribal partisan politics, thought this might be an interesting read: “Moral theologians make a key distinction between ‘goodness’ (with its opposite, ‘badness’...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 30th May - 6:22pm
    I am a strong supporter of Tim and I think Housing is very important for the future. Now a request: Can we have a little...
  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 30th May - 6:20pm
    @David Howarth "Are you suggesting that the UK should leave the UN and the WTO" Trade is necessarily governed by international law. Human rights is...
  • User AvatarHelen Dudden 30th May - 6:12pm
    In Lib Dem Bath, Don Fosters patch, the Lib Dems were doing petitions against housing. As a pensioner I know only too well the sad...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015