Tag Archives: evolution

Opinion: Talking at cross purposes about equal marriage

While it is tempting to be triumphal at success of the vote on equal marriage, I have some sympathy for some of the opponents. Not for the bigots of course – but while all bigots will oppose equal marriage, the converse isn’t true, and some opponents are genuinely unhappy at the idea of parliamentary vote to, as they see it, change the meaning of a word.

Now that may seem to many of us an odd thing to get upset about – although I would be quite unhappy if Parliament attempted to change the value of

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 145 Comments

Daily View 2×2: 4 December 2009

It’s December 4th, and 210 years since the day William Pitt the Younger introduced income tax to help pay for the Napoleonic Wars. By that time, The Observer (the world’s first Sunday newspaper) was already celebrating its ninth birthday.

2 Must-Read Blog Posts

What are other Liberal Democrat bloggers saying? Here are two posts that have caught the eye from the Liberal Democrat Blogs aggregator:

Spotted any other great posts in the last day from blogs that aren’t on the aggregator? Do post up a comment sharing them with us all.

2 Big Stories

MPs to go clubbing to investigate cocaine trade

The Commons home affairs committee, led by Labour’s Keith Vaz, will look at what goes on during “student nights”.

Members will look at the latest cocaine-detecting technology and talk to anti-drugs campaigners.

Labour MP Gwyn Prosser has already spent time outside a nightclub in Maidstone, Kent, as part of the committee’s preliminary research.

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment

Reasons to doubt that Darwin poll

Last week, an opinion poll supposedly showing relatively low levels of public belief in Darwin’s theory of evolution did the media rounds. Typical was this write-up from the Daily Telegraph:

Poll reveals public doubts over Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution
Belief in creationism is widespread in Britain, according to a new survey.

Having heard some more coverage of the poll this morning, I thought I’d take a look at what the poll actually said. It was conducted by ComRes, a reputable polling firm (and, regularly readers of my posts about BPIX will be glad to hear, a member of the British Polling …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSIMON BANKS 27th May - 8:49pm
    Thanks for this post, David. Another point to note is that people were engaged and excited by an issue which affected very few of them...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:47pm
    David Allan "Why should this suddenly reverse when it is the rich we are talking about? Why is it that the best way to justify...
  • User Avatarnvelope2003 27th May - 8:42pm
    R Rossim: No of course it was not the reason for the election result but I think many people felt that some of the things...
  • User Avatarhugh 27th May - 8:41pm
    Joe, the Conservative got the support of less than 1 in 4 of those eligible to vote. They do not represent the people of this...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 27th May - 8:39pm
    Whilst no doubt some of the detail is debatable, your direction of travel is spot on. We need to move away from a party that...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:37pm
    Matthew Huntbach "It’s not just down to luck, unless by “luck” you include being lucky with the parents you had." I don't agree most is...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015