Tag Archives: fiscal multiplier

5 points on Clegg’s admission that Coalition was wrong to cut capital spending

Nick Clegg in DublinNick Clegg has sparked a flurry of excitement with his admission in an interview for The House magazine that the Coalition cut capital spending ‘too far, too fast’ to coin a phrase. Here’s what he said to Paul Waugh and Sam Macrory:

“If I’m going to be sort of self-critical, there was this reduction in capital spending when we came into the Coalition Government. I think we comforted ourselves at the time that it was actually no more than what Alistair Darling spelt out

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , and | 45 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJames 28th May - 2:22am
    Oh, another article that suggests we need to be more economically right wing. FFS
  • User AvatarScott Berry 28th May - 12:56am
    Wow - as soon as I read Caron's post I was expecting the normal free speech uproar that comes any time anyone dares to suggest...
  • User AvatarJennie 28th May - 12:43am
    What Nick Barlow said. Also: regarding the app you refer to; if that's the conference app I won't have it on my phone. It won't...
  • User AvatarCharlie 27th May - 11:51pm
    If we look at the Renaissance, the rise of the Netherlands , the Industrial Revolution in the UK, the economic expansion in Germany 1850 to...
  • User AvatarLiberal Al 27th May - 11:41pm
    A women in a £1m hat, who lives on the public purse, talks of austerity. Yet, I am the extremist for being a republican (note...
  • User Avatargautam16 27th May - 11:32pm
    The main issue is that the benefits are very easily presented, but the costs are obscure and immeasurable. Eg1 over time, will society look down...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015