Tag Archives: fiscal multiplier

5 points on Clegg’s admission that Coalition was wrong to cut capital spending

Nick Clegg in DublinNick Clegg has sparked a flurry of excitement with his admission in an interview for The House magazine that the Coalition cut capital spending ‘too far, too fast’ to coin a phrase. Here’s what he said to Paul Waugh and Sam Macrory:

“If I’m going to be sort of self-critical, there was this reduction in capital spending when we came into the Coalition Government. I think we comforted ourselves at the time that it was actually no more than what Alistair Darling spelt out

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , and | 45 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:57pm
    Sorry if this is a dumb question. 'for England we have a wishy-washy “devolution on demand” policy, some regional parties with policies for their own...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:50pm
    'Importantly, we need to develop the best policy possible to help bring stability into the region as soon as we can.' Well...with respect (and I...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 11:28pm
    On the funding issue, again I think that's something that would be resolved by reform of the English party. If the English party took on...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 11:26pm
    @Mark It's a good thing I was never a narrow-minded nationalist. Eurosceptic, keen on the idea of devolution for England and naive, yes. Nationalist and...
  • User AvatarMark Valladares 5th Jul - 11:03pm
    Andrew, Let's just say that I have a long memory and a deep suspicion of narrow-minded nationalism...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 11:01pm
    Apart from the fact that it is right and absolutely necessary to help the refugees, it is totally and utterly wrong to put all the...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015