Tag Archives: flexible working

Jenny Willott writes… How Lib Dems are giving families choice through shared parental leave and flexible working

Parents and child - Some rights reserved by Ed YourtonAs a mother with two small children myself, I know how hard it can be to balance work and family life. And as a Lib Dem, I firmly believe in equal opportunities for all and tackling discrimination, whatever form it takes.

So I am really excited that with Lib Dems in Government, we are shaking up the status quo to make it easier for parents with young children to arrange their work/life balance however best suits them.

We need to challenge the old-fashioned …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 2 Comments

Nick Clegg: Parents can share the joys and responsibilities of bringing children into the world

Nick Clegg went on Woman’s Hour yesterday after announcing the Coalition’s plans to allow parents to choose which of them takes leave when they have a new baby.

He talked to Jane Garvey about the plans for around 20 minutes, fielding some pretty robust questions, including whether men or women actually wanted this change. He was quite firm that it wasn’t for the government to say that women should take time off and men should work when a baby was born.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 24th May - 8:07pm
    The Politics by Aristotle The Discourses by Machiavelli The Book of the Courtier by Baldesar Castiglione
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 24th May - 7:53pm
    Phil Rimmer 24th May '15 - 11:59am Richard Underhill 24th May '15 - 3:42pm Great posts! Alex Lewis 24th May '15 - 4:03pm Alex, it...
  • User Avatarbob sayer 24th May - 7:35pm
    Those who throw stones etc of course all other parties never make errors of judgements Mr Howell your comments are ridiculous
  • User AvatarJohn Littler 24th May - 7:20pm
    The stated equidistance between the buggins turn two parties seems to have been made in the view that the LibDems would benefit from tactical voting...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 24th May - 7:17pm
    Nick Tyrone's line about Burnham's new approach to Europe made me laugh: "In fact the one thing Burnham talked about in the interview that was...
  • User AvatarBolano 24th May - 7:16pm
    "I hope fair minded people would agree that Alistair Carmichael should be given that second chance" Then let his constituents decide - give them a...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015