Tag Archives: flora ponsonby

The other local elections: Lib Dems gain five and hold three

The Liberal Democrats have gained five council seats and retained all three of their previously-held seats in the raft of council by-elections they were contesting yesterday.

In Wallsend, North Tyneside, Michael Huscroft gained from Labour with 58.2%, or 1158 votes.

David Siddans won in Rossett, Harrogate Borough Council, with 48.9% of the vote (897), in a 25.6% swing from the Tories.

From the Harrogate Advertiser:

Councillor John Fox, Constituency Chairman, Harrogate and Knaresborough Liberal Democrats said: “This is the first Liberal Democrat gain from the Conservatives in the north of England this year. We are absolutely delighted to have overturned a

Posted in Council by-elections | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPaul Reynolds 6th Jul - 10:15am
    Thank you Richard. An excellent and persuasive piece. The improved psychological support you suggest is essential. Perhaps even more important is not to send so...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 10:07am
    Please, please, and not just on this issue, will folks get their language correct? Firstly the people fleeing a variety of places are described as...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 6th Jul - 10:07am
    Michele ".....getting everyone to the same starting point.....If we can do this for people of Alison McInnes ‘ calibre they wont need any help to...
  • User AvatarMike S 6th Jul - 10:04am
    Economic migrants V Genuine Refugees I am being deliberately controversial here, because I believe this is a debate that needs to be had. I suspect...
  • User AvatarGwynfor Tyley 6th Jul - 10:04am
    Reforming property tax is desperately needed as the distortions created by our current system are at the heart of our economic woes: Scrap stamp duty...
  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 6th Jul - 9:57am
    sorry, George, but I agree with Mike Taylor(did I just say that?). Yes we have an 'English Party', but I don't think even it knows...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015