Tag Archives: fostering

Opinion: David Jones is wrong on same sex parenting

It’s been a long time since something riled me so much I headed straight for the keyboard but the news of the comments made by Welsh Secretary David Jones regarding same sex couples bringing up children  did it. For anyone who missed it, t he said :

 I regard marriage as an institution that has developed over many centuries, essentially for the provision of a warm and safe environment for the upbringing of children, which is clearly something that two same-sex partners can’t do.

 He has now claimed that he was quoted out of context given that elsewhere he lauded civil partnerships …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 162 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarIain 27th Jul - 5:48pm
    Unlucky - Totnes Town today, then four more on Thursday
  • User AvatarIain 27th Jul - 5:46pm
    ^That would be very difficult to get past the laws I said £2million should be spent on a Severn tidal barrage, and should be taken...
  • User AvatarJohn Mitchell 27th Jul - 5:45pm
    I 100% agree in that the creation of Police Scotland was a mistake. I also see today that the Scottish government is set to close...
  • User AvatarHywel 27th Jul - 5:16pm
    Liz was just outside my house in January saying how the flood defences would be repaired "as a matter of urgency". Lets just say she...
  • User AvatarJohn Mitchell 27th Jul - 5:08pm
    Michelle Obama - "We can't afford to be tired or frustrated or cynical." I can't think of anyone more than President Obama who has made...
  • User AvatarDav 27th Jul - 4:43pm
    Michelle Obama could be the second woman President It would be hilarious, if the first two women Presidents had both got there because their husbands...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016