Tag Archives: frank furedi

Your essential weekend reader — my personal pick of the week’s must-reads

It’s Saturday evening, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices culled from all those I’ve linked to this last week. You can follow me on Delicious here.

Political predictions: as the year ends, what does 2013 hold for the main party leaders? – Andrew Rawnsley sanely assesses the 12 months to come: ‘Nick Clegg and David Cameron face more of the same. Ed Miliband’s future is more complicated. He has choices.’

No longer the dunce – Anne McElvoy whispers the …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , and | 1 Comment

Your essential weekend reader — 8 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday morning, so here are eight thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices…

Why don’t we trust politicians? – The BBC’s Nick Robinson takes politicians to task, doesn’t let the media off the hook either… while Labour’s Rachel Reeves mouths platitudes.

The BBC regains its honour – Nick Cohen links the Beeb’s problems with Newsnight and Jimmy Savile to the wider question of institutional trust: ‘We ought to be extending anti-managerialism into every private and public hierarchy.’

The Savile inquiries: giving truth a

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlistair 26th May - 6:29am
    Eddie, what was wrong with Mers-el-Kébir in your opinion? It was clearly the right course of action at the time. The French Navy could have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 5:02am
    @jbt: "But does anyone care? The only test here that matters is whether people recognise and value the relationship." If you seriously intend to pursue...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 4:52am
    @jbt: "I have no problem with Irish voters. . . we recognise a kinship with them that we do not extend to others!" Have you...
  • User AvatarT-J 26th May - 1:57am
    I have very strong feelings about this. In my opinion, the Commonwealth is the most meaningless of international organisations - if it did not exist,...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 26th May - 1:37am
    I sense, I feel without undue justification, that the Lib Dems risk being portrayed in this upcoming referendum campaign as focusing on the wrong things...
  • User AvatarAndy Hinton 26th May - 1:30am
    Caron: Thanks for responding to my comment, and I'm genuinely heartened to read what you say. It's not that I'm unable to understand the genuine...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015