Tag Archives: free prescriptions

Steve Webb writes: working for pensioners, now and in the future

When I was appointed Pensions Minister last May my first priority was protecting current pensioners. It was widely assumed that the spending review would see cuts to a range of forms of help that pensioners receive. But despite the spending pressures, the budgets for bus passes, free television licences, free prescriptions and the Winter Fuel Allowance have been protected at the level set out by the previous government. Better still, where Labour had planned to cut Cold Weather Payments to £8.50 per week we have made them £25 permanently to protect the most vulnerable when the temperature is below …

Posted in Op-eds and Parliament | Also tagged , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSue S 4th Jul - 5:50pm
    When it came down to the biggest test of prejudice, ie the selection of the American Presidential candidate by the Democrats, they voted for a...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 5:13pm
    Thanks for the Tweet summaries!
  • User AvatarStuart 4th Jul - 5:12pm
    @Andrew "However perhaps the key to ending any relative career effects of parental leave is when both men and women stop calling it “maternity leave”...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 5:07pm
    Wrong to call MPs ignorant about money creation. Positive Money and the Bank of England both admit that banks delete money too, but Positive Money...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 5:00pm
    @ruth. 100% of your euro MPs are female. Seriously though 2 points: 1. You have so few MPs now and since 8 is not a...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 4:49pm
    @ Ruth - "most women have babies so how is it separate from gender?!" The coalition gov't very sensibly introduced equal/mixed maternity/paternity leave. So it...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015