Tag Archives: further education

Liberal Youth seeks your views on improving further education

LY campaigning in WestonYesterday Nick Clegg made an announcement on Further Education. This is a response from members of Liberal Youth’s working group on Further Education.

Nick Clegg’s announcement yesterday was largely focussed on improving careers advice, severely damaged as a result of the scrapping of Connexions, and giving those who haven’t gone to Higher Education an equal chance to those who have. Nick talked about creating a ‘one stop shop’ website for 16 year olds to help them plan their next move, similar to UCAS but will include information about apprenticeships, …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 7 Comments

Liberal Youth Activate gives the new Liberal Youth leadership a renewed focus on Further Education

liberalyouthI write post Activate, Liberal Youth’s flagship training weekend. This year, it also included policy debates and constitutional amendments – two of which were on Further Education.

Liberal Youth’s leadership on Further Education has improved significantly over the past year, with Freshers Fairs conducted in FE institutions for the first time, as well as training for regional chairs on how to engage with Further Education students in their areas.

I’ve demanded much better from the Liberal Youth Executive for 6 years, arguing that setting our foundations in Further Education would make the …

Posted in News | Also tagged | 4 Comments

LibLink: Tavish Scott says college row marks a turning point for the SNP

Tavish Scott has written a column for the Scotsman criticising the SNP Government for abuse of power and neutering the Holyrood Parliament. His comments come in the wake of a row about the Education Secretary Mike Russell effectively engineered the resignation of the Chairman of Stow College in Glasgow. Kirk Ramsay had been a vociferous critic of Russell’s cuts in the sector.

The story so far:

Ramsay records Russell’s on-the-record remarks at a meeting with about 80 people present at which the Cabinet Secretary was discussing his plans for the Further Education sector. He did so because he suffers from Tinnitus and …

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , , , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRoger Lake 29th Jun - 11:55pm
    To save time, may I just quote the exact time against your response, and answer each in txurn? As yo see, I don't type well....
  • User AvatarStewart 29th Jun - 11:25pm
    Andrew: "and the rich, who would be abolished, basically, with the Schumacher policy of no-one getting more that 12 times the lowest paid" Sounds good,...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 29th Jun - 11:05pm
    7. "Economic protectionism seems to be on the rise in the UK, with opposition on the right to Britain’s membership of the European Union’s single...
  • User AvatarRoger Lake 29th Jun - 9:44pm
    Thanks to everyone who has responded. I have been out this evening, but will attempt soon to tackle the misgivings. Some of them, though, seem...
  • User AvatarAndrew 29th Jun - 9:43pm
    Richard, If turnout in General Elections was the problem why did Westmoreland and Lonsdale have pretty much the highest turnout in the north of England...
  • User AvatarKevin Manley 29th Jun - 9:42pm
    I guess the answer to the author's question, based on the number and tone of a lot of the responses, is - yes! To me...
Mon 29th Jun 2015
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015