Tag Archives: gavin barwell

Election law snippets

MPs who suffer mental health problems will benefit from the government’s decision to back a Bill going through Parliament:

The Deputy Prime Minister announced that the Government is backing the Mental Health (Discrimination) Bill brought forward by Gavin Barwell MP, which receives Second Reading in the House of Commons today.

The Bill repeals section 141 of the Mental Health Act, which sets out that an MP automatically loses their seat if detained under the Act for more than six months. It also amends similar discriminatory provisions in legislation concerning

Posted in Election law | Also tagged , , and | 10 Comments

Five MPs face questions over election expenses – how good are their answers?

Channel 4’s investigation with the Bureau of Investigative Journalism into MPs’ election expenses has raised questions about another five MPs in addition to Zac Goldsmith.

Having already looked at some of the legal questions around Zac Goldsmith, how do the other five stack up? Two raise important points of how the law should be interpreted, one has unclear evidence so far and two appear to involve administrative errors without any actual overspending.

First, the legal issues.

Phil Woolas (Labour), who is already facing a court hearing in the autumn over his election campaign, is accused of not declaring leaflets that …

Posted in Election law | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatar(Matt Bristol) 30th Jun - 5:32pm
    So do the leaders of the federal constituents of the party get local vetoes on manifesto commitments in 'their own' manifestoes? And what about that...
  • User AvatarNick Barlow 30th Jun - 5:30pm
    "I just don’t think ordinary members have access to the same advice as the leader" Yes, that's the point - the leadership is often caught...
  • User AvatarGareth Wilson 30th Jun - 5:12pm
    Much as I applaud the majority of Liberal Reform's work I can't agree with this one - its the secrecy of the FPC that's the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 30th Jun - 5:09pm
    Nick Barlow makes a good point about the marketability of it, but I just don't think ordinary members have access to the same advice as...
  • User AvatarStephen Campbell 30th Jun - 5:07pm
    @TCO: "Choices bring consequences." "Well, perhaps the poor Greeks should have voted in governments prepared to deal with widespread tax evasion." Nice bit of victim...
  • User AvatarMorgan Inwood 30th Jun - 5:06pm
    STV for Local Authority elections will only work when all wards in that Local Authority are up for election at the same time. At the...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015