Tag Archives: gcse

Opinion: Michael Gove’s plans are a disaster for schools

Credit ITN

The publication last week of the All-Party Parliamentary Select Committee’s damning report into changes in qualifications at 16, signals a step-change in attitudes towards Michael Gove’s so-called ‘Education Revolution.’

The report makes for unsettling reading from a Liberal Democrat point of view.  And even Tory MP Graham Stuart, Chair of the Education Committee warns:

We have serious concerns about the Government’s proposed timetable for change. Ministers want to introduce a new qualification, require a step-change in standards, and alter the way exams are administered, all at the same time. We believe

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 60 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDuncan Stott 28th Feb - 12:18am
    If it takes this Labour leadership 40 months to work out how to spend £3bn, then how are they going to fare running the government...
  • User AvatarMartinB 28th Feb - 12:04am
    @SimonShaw I rather suspect Labour have spent time costing the proposal to ensure it is do-able rather than land themselves in the same position as...
  • User Avatarmalc 28th Feb - 12:03am
    In fairness won't those city bankers. city lawyers, city accountants etc be the ones that will be worse off under the new pension rules Labour...
  • User AvatarSimon Shaw 28th Feb - 12:01am
    @MartinB I rather think a party seriously rattled by the policy of an opponent would avoid all mention of the topic. I believe, instead, that...
  • User AvatarPeter Watson 27th Feb - 11:59pm
    Students who drop out without graduating will also have to repay their loans so perhaps we should call it a "student contribution".
  • User AvatarRoland 27th Feb - 11:58pm
    I do like the way that Labour has once again successfully managed to divert attention away from yet another pensions savings raid. Whilst it would...
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015