Tag Archives: GEEMA

Opinion: In pursuit of excellence

Earlier this month David Lammy MP highlighted the problem of the low number of black students admitted to Oxford and Cambridge Universities and called it the ‘Oxbridge Whitewash’. He wrote in the Guardian (6 Dec):

“Just one British black Caribbean student was admitted to Oxford last year. That is not a misprint: one student. Merton College, Oxford, has not admitted a single black student for five years. At Robinson College, Cambridge, a white applicant is four times more likely to be successful than a black applicant. Last year, 292 black students achieved three A grades at A-level and 475 black

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarNigel Cheeseman 5th Jul - 6:11pm
    We are currently pursuing a complaint against social services and considering referring one of the professionals who will be a Named Person under this legislation....
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 6:11pm
    So much for devolved policy making.
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 6:06pm
    And the last time a substantive policy motion was submitted to my regional conference (on transport in the region) it was rejected in case it...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 6:04pm
    @Peter Davies At three years of regional conference in my region we have debated precisely zero real policy motions. What I'm talking about is having...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 5th Jul - 5:50pm
    "By the by, Cameron also stabbed Clegg in the back by not very subtly supporting the N2AV." I don't think he "stabbed him in the...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 5th Jul - 5:44pm
    "I think both in the Arts, in politics and indeed in most areas of life the danger of not knowing what you don’t know will...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015