Tag Archives: genocide

Eric Avebury writes…We must heed the cries of the Hazaras

Just over a week ago a massive bomb was detonated in a packed bazaar on the outskirts of Quetta, killing at least 92 people and seriously injuring more than 200.

Last month a double suicide bombing on Alamdar Road, Quetta took the lives of 108 people

These were the latest in a crescendo of genocidal attacks on the Shia Hazara community in Pakistan since the turn of the century, which was considered in a packed meeting I chaired at the House of Lords yesterday, February 25.

According to published accounts, these atrocities have left over 1,100 dead and 1,300 injured. In fact the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLester Holloway 1st Mar - 12:23am
    This is an absolutely appalling campaign devoid of the humanity of rehabilitation that is the subject of so many LDV articles.
  • User AvatarJulian Gibb 1st Mar - 12:20am
    http://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/homepage.html Just updated with Feb data. 15 seats for the LibDems. I still think that is high. I predict just into double figures - circa...
  • User AvatarSimon Shaw 1st Mar - 12:17am
    @malc "The last poll I saw ref tuition fees was a YouGov one which showed 54% to 21% in favour of reducing tuition fees" Did...
  • User AvatarTim 1st Mar - 12:12am
    I think the “fruit machine” reference is to the electoral system (FPTP) not the voters But isn't the Lib Dems' preference for a system (multi-member...
  • User AvatarTim 1st Mar - 12:10am
    I think the “fruit machine” reference is to the electoral system (FPTP) not the voters
  • User Avatarmalc 1st Mar - 12:03am
    RC "It’s just more proof of the shallowness and cynicism of the Labour party and those who support it who think is a good idea."...
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015