Tag Archives: george bridges

George Bridges: my part in the Tories’ downfall. As a Lib Dem, I approve this message

There’s a fascinating article today in the Telegraph by George Bridges: The Tories have gone astray – and I helped. Who’s George Bridges, you ask? Here’s his summary of his political career to date:

First a researcher for the Conservative Party machine, then a tour of duty in the bunker of No 10 for the last three Major years, followed by a few years advising Michael Howard and David Cameron.

It’s a hefty 1,000-word ‘Consevatism: my part in its downfall’ mea culpa, and it’s fascinating in two ways.

First, for its call to arms for Conservatives to ignore the polling …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 26th May - 8:21am
    Two questions: 1. Is there room in ALTER for those who might be persuaded to subscribe to the australian system whereby the primary residence is...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 26th May - 8:17am
    At first I misread this as "millstone" and it set me thinking what could possibly be wrong with lots of new members. Should hve gone...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 26th May - 8:14am
    @ David-1 - good job we live in a democracy where it would be possible to get government action to address questions of identity and...
  • User AvatarTim P 26th May - 8:00am
    So what would happen to someone who, as they grow older becomes more and more asset rich and cash poor? Would they be forced to...
  • User AvatarClive Peaple 26th May - 7:53am
    We need to emphasise / list the ACTUAL achievements of the ECHR. Facts not sentiments are more effective against the circulation seeking Press.
  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 26th May - 7:16am
    So, to summarise: LDV: "We're not going to publish posts that abuse people or call for individuals to be sacked." Assorted commenters: "How can we...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015