Tag Archives: graham jones

Labour MP attacks rural broadband as “faster internet shopping for millionaires”

Labour MP Graham Jones has kicked up a fuss over his attack on the government’s plans to extend high speed broadband in rural areas, saying it will just mean “faster internet shopping for millionaires”. The MP for Hyndburn went on to say that the rural broadband investment “is just about faster internet shopping for wealthy people”.

Liberal Democrat MP David Heath begged to differ, telling the House of Commons that: “The honourable gentleman is deeply mistaken on this subject … If we do not invest properly to allow every member of every community in the country to have access to …

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 11 Comments

Police investigate electoral allegations in Hyndburn

The Lancashire Telegraph reports:

POLICE have launched an investigation into voting at this month’s local elections.

Labour officials have made a complaint about irregularities concerning proxy votes in Hyndburn.

A proxy vote is when votes are placed at the polling station on somebody’s behalf, usually when they are unable to leave the house or are on holiday and have chosen not to vote via post.

Police said they had also launched an investigation into claims constituency MP Graham Jones had intimidated voters.

They said this was not connected with the proxy votes allegations.

In three wards in Hyndburn there were more than fifty proxy …

Posted in Election law | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 7:58pm
    Helen, thanks for that. I did notice something to that effect. Do you know what changed his thinking on the issue?
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 22nd May - 7:34pm
    What about a transitional leadership (academic paper: MAJ Earl Russell 08 September 2011) This new leadership theory embodies the thought that a leader can transition...
  • User AvatarJohn Minard 22nd May - 7:34pm
    At least we made the news today!!
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 22nd May - 7:21pm
    Caron Lindsay 22nd May '15 - 4:50pm ".... Here is what I wrote at the time about the memo: http://www.libdemvoice.org/nicola-sturgeon-faces-similar-press-trashing-to-clegg-in-2010-but-with-added-misogyny-45322.html ..." I have just read...
  • User AvatarMartin 22nd May - 7:18pm
    Psi: i> clearly a very stupid decision to take, I can’t imagine what he was thinking. It gives the strong impression that in Scotland, Lib...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 22nd May - 6:57pm
    TCO - it does not surprise me that from your stand point Rawls is a socialist.
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015