Tag Archives: grocery code adjudicator

Michael Moore’s Westminster Notes

Every week Liberal Democrat Secretary of State for Scotland Michael Moore writes a column for newspapers in his Borders constituency. Here’s this week’s edition.

David Steel book launch

Last week I attended the launch of the latest biography of David Steel in Westminster, this one written by David Torrance.  At the event I was pleased to be able to thank David publicly for the support and inspiration he has been to me over the years.

The book, to which I contributed the foreword (but otherwise none of the writing or research!) is certainly a testament to all David has achieved in his political career and, as his successor as Borders MP, I owe him a significant debt of gratitude. This new biography reflects on what I believe to be one of the most important and diverse political careers of recent times and I would encourage everyone to get a copy and give it a read!

Grocery Code Adjudicator

In my constituency, farming is an extremely important industry and as local MP I have been campaigning for fair prices for our farmers in a market which, for too long, has been balanced in favour of big supermarkets.  This is why last week I welcomed further progress on the Government’s Grocery Code Adjudicator Bill which received its Second Reading in the House of Commons.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment

Michael Moore’s Westminster Notes

Every week, Liberal Democrat Secretary of State for Scotland writes a column for newspapers in his Borders constituency. Here’s this week’s edition.

Energy prices

Rising energy continue to be a huge for concern for Borderers and I was pleased to meet with the Lib Dem Energy Secretary Ed Davey last week to discuss the Government’s plans to help people reduce their energy bills through the Green Deal, the most ambitious home insulation programme the UK has ever seen.

With the Green Deal, Borderers will be able to pay for some or all of the insulation work done with the savings they make on …

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Gadsden 26th May - 2:28pm
    Such a shame that you're not there to stand for Leader.
  • User AvatarMartin 26th May - 2:28pm
    Jo supports Tim, Lynne supports Norman. Both Jo and Lynne would have been excellent candidates, possibly better than either the two on offer. What Jo...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 26th May - 2:28pm
    @ John Grout The marriage referendum was framed by the yes campaign around 'rights' certainly but the area of the Irish constitution amended pertained not...
  • User AvatarPsi 26th May - 2:22pm
    Jonathan Pile “Wasn’t that part of the problem we were too right wing for our voters in Scotland, the North and outside of the South...
  • User Avatarg 26th May - 2:16pm
    This is why I can't be a Liberal, and why I despair so often at Labour. Any political party that doesn't see the equitable redistribution...
  • User AvatarGlenn Andrews 26th May - 2:15pm
    Demonisation of the rich is killing progressive politics?.... Must fall in the category of silent killer then.
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015